Skip to main content
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

International Business: Finding Articles

A guide for finding resources on International Business in the ACC Libraries and on the Internet

Need to find articles?

Try our study guide Finding Periodical Articles online.

The databases listed in the box on the right are good tools to use to start your search for articles related to Management (Business Management).

Selected International Business and Business Magazines / Newspapers / Journals

Please see the library's databaseswhich provide some full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals in many disciplines. Business Source Complete "is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content." It indexes and abstracts scholarly journals and business periodicals, covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more, providing full text articles from 1,500+ periodicals.

Black Enterprise(https://www.blackenterprise.com/)
The web site provides sections on small business, wealth building, careers, lifestyle, and other topics. BE is a business magazine for black professionals, business people, college students, and corporate executives. Full text of the magazine is available from 05/01/1990 to present from Business Source Complete.

Business Week now Bloomberg Business Week (2010 - present) (http://www.businessweek.com/)
You can read daily and breaking news from the current issue of Business Week on this web site, including stories that only appear in Business Week Internationaleditions. Full text of the magazine is available from 12/30/1996 to the present from Business Source Complete. CYP, EVC, NRG, PIN, RGC, RRC, RVS, and SAC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

E-Commerce Times(http://www.ecommercetimes.com/)
publishes current news for the Internet industry. The web site has frequent industry news updates and other channels on specific topics.

The Economist(http://www.economist.com/)
The web companion to the weekly newsmagazine, published in London, England, offers many full text articles from the current issue, as well as selected articles from recent issues. Registered users (registration is free) may search the site's index of archived articles. The site posts Emerging Markets Indicators, Economic Indicators, and Financial Indicators on a weekly basis. Full text articles are also available from 01/09/1988 to the present from World History In Context. CYP, NRG, PIN, RGC, RRC, RVS, and SAC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

Entrepreneur Magazine(http://www.entrepreneur.com/)
The online site features many articles from the print magazine as well as other resources. You can keyword search archived full-text articles from 1991 to the present. The site discusses trends in entrepreneurship, provides EASI geographic economic reports, and ranks the hottest 100 new businesses, 100 best banks for small business, and best cities for small business. It provides entrepreneurship tips, and a franchise opportunity guide, rankings the 500 best, new, fastest growth, and low investment franchises. A library of free business forms is also available. Full text articles are also available from 08/01/2003 to the present from Business Source Complete.

FT.com Financial Times(www.ft.com/epaper)
This British publication site provides a selection of full text articles from the current issue of Financial Timesas well as a searchable archive of issues published in the past 30 days. FT covers world business, provides exchange rates, share prices, equity index prices, company briefings, and leading economic indicator data for various nations. There are regional pages and interactive content, such as podcasts, debates and polls, videos, and more. Free registration is required to take full advantage of offerings.

Forbes (http://www.forbes.com/)
This "Home Page for the World's Business Leaders" provides current news plus interactive content. Full text Forbes' articles are available from 01/08/1990 to the presentthrough Business Source Complete. CYP, NRG, PIN, RGC, RRC, and RVS Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

 

Forbes Asia (http://www.forbes.com/forbesglobal/)
Full text Forbes Asia articles are available from 04/28/2003 to the present through Business Source Complete.

 

Fortune on CNNMoney.com (http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/)
The online publication includes a Daily Briefing, columns, features, and rankings, such as the Fortune 500, Power 25, and 100 Best Companies to Work for. Full text articles from Fortune are available from 01/27/1992 to the present through Business Source Complete. NRG, PIN, RGC, RRC, RVS, and SAC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

Harvard Business Review Online(http://hbr.org/magazine/)
"The Harvard Business Review was first published in 1922 and is the most influential academic / business magazine in the country. This premier forum of the business world offers readers original research and firsthand perspectives from leading business thinkers, educators, and managers. HBR provides concrete advice on a wide range of critical areas, including leadership, strategy, management, decision making, delegation, organizational behavior and communication." The web site provides articles, Resource Centers, and media to complement the print publication. Full text is available from 10/01/1922 to the present through Business Source Complete. NRG, RGC, RRC, RVS, and SAC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

Home Business Magazine(http://www.homebusinessmag.com/)
This magazine, and the companion website, feature articles and resources for starting and running a home based business. Full text is available from 03/01/2007 to the present through Business Source Complete.

Inc. Online (http://www.inc.com/)
Inc.—"The Daily Resource for Entrepreneurs"— profiles American's 500 fastest-growing private companies, provides the latest news, product announcements, employment opportunities, and covers advertising, marketing, products, consulting, and more. Full text articles are available from 05/01/1990 to the present through Business Source Complete

Kiplinger.com(http://www.kiplinger.com/)
provides personal finance advice, business forecasts, retirement advice, and more. Full text articles from Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine are available through Business Source Complete back to 07/01/1990. CYP, NRG, RGC, RRC, RVS, and SAC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this magazine.

 

Managing Imports & Exports Newsletter
Focuses on exports and imports from the practitioner's viewpoint. Published by the Professional Association of Import/Export Compliance Managers. Full-text is available through Business Source Complete to current ACC students, faculty, and staff back to 2001.

New York Times--Business Section (link to free online version)
Current ACC students, faculty, and staff may access this well-known and highly regarded newspaper's online issues back through 1980. Many ACC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this newspaper.

 

New York Times Small Business(http://www.nytimes.com/pages/business/smallbusiness/index.html)
Small business articles from The New York Times and a Small Business Resource Center are featured on this web site. You can also read the daily New York Times and its Business Section by clicking on the tabs at the top of the page.

The Nonprofit Times(http://www.nptimes.com/)
"The Leading Business Publication for Nonprofit Management" feature daily news, a resource directory, enewsletters and more.

Nonprofit World
Focuses on organizational management and leadership from the practitioner's viewpoint. Published by the Society for Nonprofit Organizations. Available through Business Source Complete to current ACC students, faculty, and staff back to 1983.

Red Herring(http://www.redherring.com/)
The publication provides business information for the technology and entertainment industries. Archives and other features supplement the top news stories. Full text of the magazine is available from 05/27/1983 to the present from Business Source Complete.

WSJ.com(http://online.wsj.com/public/us)
You can read business and financial news of the day on this web companion to the Wall Street Journal. The site includes Multimedia and Online Extras, Markets Data and Tools.

Wall Street Journal
Current ACC students, faculty, and staff may access this well-known and highly regarded financial and business newspaper's online issues back through 1984. Most ACC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this newspaper.

 

Austin American-Statesman
The local daily newspaper. Current ACC students, faculty, and staff may access online issues back through 1989. (This may work better with Internet Explorer or Google Chrome than Firefox.) Most ACC Libraries subscribe to the print version of this newspaper.

 

Magazine / Newspaper / Journal Article Databases

ACC Libraries have more than 90 journal/magazine article databases. These are the most useful for International Business.

(See a complete list of ACC Library Databases by Subject or by Title)

Finding International Business Magazines / Journals at ACC Libraries

There are a number of ways to find international business-related magazines and journals available at ACC Libraries.  Some of these are listed below.  Each way has its advantages and disadvantages.

Business Source Complete: More About Searching the Database

Commerce and Transportation

Journal of Commerce (http://www.joc.com/)
The web companion to the weekly newsmagazine, The Journal of Commerce website is a key, interactive business tool for industry experts who require a resource that will give them the information they need to meet their business goals. Visitors will find breaking news, analysis, sailing schedules, logistics tools, market data, links, and more. The Journal of Commerce, a weekly magazine, provides authoritative editorial content for international logistics executives to help them plan their global supply chain and better manage their day-to-day international logistics and shipping needs. This information is delivered through news, analysis, case studies, and perspective pieces. Full text articles of Journal of Commerce and its predecessors, Traffic World and JoC Week, are also available from 07/03/2000 to the present from Business Source Complete.

Business Continuity and Sustainability Databases

Folders, Alerts, RSS Feeds: Better Ways to Work in EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Databases, such as Business Source Complete, provide some very helpful features for organizing your work and even sharing or working with others.  You can collect articles and search strategies you want to keep in a Folder.  A folder can be individual or shared/group.  Journal issues can be sent to your email or set up on RSS feeds.  So can searches on topics of interest to you.

Subject Guide

Linda Clement's picture
Linda Clement
Contact:
Faculty Librarian / Professor
Austin Community College
Cypress Creek Campus Library
1555 Cypress Creek Road
Room 2121.6
Cedar Park, TX 78613
Email: lclement@austincc.edu
512-223-2033
Website

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College