LibGuides: Finding Literary Criticism: Collections of Literary Criticism

Library Online Subscription Resources

These online resources are available to ACC students, faculty and staff. To access these resources off-campus, you will need your ACCeID and password.

Search by title or author for best results.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
This e-resource examines the lives and works of great authors, along with literary characters, topics, themes, movements, and genres. Select the "SOURCES" tab to see a list of the wide coverage available in this excellent literary e-resource.
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of academic sources.
Brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of academic sources.
Essay & General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
GVRL is a very large full-text source that offers reviews of American, British and European literature primarily. Some Latin American writers are covered. Look here for reviews on short stories, in Short Stories for Students.
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Contains up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database, providing a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
The OED is considered by many to be the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
This eBook collection, Oxford Scholarship Online, houses thousands of works from 24 leading scholarly presses and covers 20 subject areas.
Salem Press (Careers, Health, History, Literature, Science) This link opens in a new window
e-Book collection of reference titles in literature, science, history, health, and careers.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes both Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism -- extensive compilation of literary commentary -- and Gale's Short Story Criticism -- thousands of essays on the critical response to short story writers
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Modern and contemporary English poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.

Print Resources

All titles below are not on every campus. See campuses below.

Short Story Criticism

REF PN 3321 .S5 CYP, NRG, RGC, SAC

This print source comes in multiple volumes. It is a large collection of criticism that was originally published elsewhere. For most stories you can get several different critics' views all in this one source. The last volume includes both a title and author index to the entire set. (Some campuses do not have the complete set).

Short Stories for Students

REF PN3373 .S348 CYP, PIN, SAC

This resource includes over 20 volumes of criticism that was published elsewhere and is reprinted here. Usually you can get several sources of criticism for a story gathered together. Start with the index in the last volume.

Critical Survey of Long Fiction REF PN 3451 .C75

2000 edition: CYP, NRG, RGC, RVS, SAC

2010 edition: EGN, HYS, RRC

Critical Survey of Short Fiction REF PN 3321 .C7

2011 edition: EGN, HYS

2001 edition: NRG, RGC, RRC, RVS, SAC

Critical Survey of Poetry REF PN 1020 .C7

2011 edition: HYS

2003 edition: NRG, RGC, RRC, RVS, SAC

1992 edition: CYP, EVC

Critical Survey of Drama REF PR 625 .C74

2003 edition: EGN, HYS, NRG, RGC, RRC

1985 edition: CYP