Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Librarianship: Free Apps

A guide to library resources and Web Sites for Librarians.

Free Apps

READING APPS

Kindle App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Kindle-The Kindle is by far the most globally popular e-reader and e-reading app on the market. (iOS/Android)

Nook App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Nook-Similar to the Kindle, the Nook is featured by Barnes and Noble and in addition to books that can be purchased, it has a small selection of free reading materials. (iOS/Android)

Kobo App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Kobo-Kobo is the second most used e-reader in the world after the Kindle and hosts a large assortment of books. (iOS/Android)

Free Books App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Free Books-The Free Books app provides 23,469 classic titles for your selection, and allows for highlighting, notes, dictionary support, and bookmarks. (Android)

iBooks App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
iBooks-iBooks is an iTunes app that includes access to the iBookstore for a wide variety of reading materials. (iOS)

GoodReader App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
GoodReader-This app allows you to access scholarly articles and other documents and save them to your mobile device for later viewing (iOS)

Audio Books App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Audio Books-This app offers free books that you can listen to for multitasking and hands free enjoyment of books. (iOS/Android)

PRODUCTIVITY APPS

Google Docs- This app allows you to access google docs on your device. (iOS/Android)

Google Sheets- This app allows you to access Google sheets on your device. (iOS/Android)

Google Slides- This app allows you to access Google slides on your device. (iOS/Android)

Google Keep- Add notes, lists, photos, and audio to Keep. Set audio-based and/or location-based reminders, share shopping lists and everything syncs across your devices. (iOS/Android)

 

 

Outliner App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Outliner-This app assists with the organization and maintaining of the appropriate structure for projects and planning while at the library. (Android)

World Book App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
World Book-This app is perfect for posting a history fact of the day on a library webpage or in individual library departments. (iOS)

Evernote App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Evernote-This free note making app organizes and saves ideas by giving you the opportunity to snap photos, take notes, make voice reminders, and even scan business cards. (iOS/Android)

History-Maps of World App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
History: Maps of World-This app is perfect for libraries to have on hand for reference transactions where geography is being discussed. (iOS)

Dropbox App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Dropbox-Dropbox is a cloud app that allows you to share files between your tablet, mobile phone and computer wherever the app is installed. (iOS/Android)

Dictionary App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Dictionary-This app also works as a thesaurus and offers a word of the day for each day of the week to strengthen your vocabulary and keep things interesting. (iOS/Android)

Wikipanion App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Wikipanion-It is one of the largest online information sources across the globe, so it has a little bit of everything, and Wikipanion was designed to easily access the information in Wikipedia. (iOS)

Quickoffice-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Quickoffice-Quickoffice combines Word, Excel, and Powerpoint into a great mobile app for librarians who need to open, edit, and send documents on the go. (Android)

ReferenceUSA App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
ReferenceUSA-This application provides real time access to research databases across North America. You must have a registered library card to use this app. (iOS)

ArticleSearch App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
ArticleSearch-This is a free app that, like ReferenceUSA, gives you access to a wide selection of scientific papers, academic journals, and other publications. It is great for research related to academic projects going on within the library, and it is also helpful as a library patron aid for those who come to do school work. (iOS)

CamDictionary Free App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
CamDictionary Free-CamDictionary lets you translate text into different languages and also provides the correct pronunciation. This app is particularly neat because you don’t need to type the word with text, but you simply point and click, and a photograph will be used to determine the meaning in other languages. (iOS/Android)

Google Goggles App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Google Goggles-This is an Android application that can be great for librarians who want to look up a certain person, place, or item, but can’t think of the name. You simply take a photo using your mobile device and then Google Goggles will search for it in its database and give you some information about it if it is found in its database. (Android)

NEWS APPS

CNN App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
CNN-CNN reports important, up to the minute headlines from around the world. From this application a librarian can stay in the loop of different global subjects and factual information that might be required for later projects and for personal knowledge. (iOS/Android)

USA Today App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
USA Today-For news affecting the United States, the USA Today app is available on nearly any handheld device or mobile unit. This news app also follows world news and includes subjects like money, sports, travel, life, tech, and weather. (iOS/Android)


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College