LibGuides: Health Information Technology: Electronic Health Records

Electronic Health Record Articles from CINAHL

Recent articles on electronic health records from the CINAHL database.

Book Searches for Electronic Health Record Topics

Electronic Health Records

The following links search the ACC libraries for books on topics related to Electronic Health Records.

Web Resources

HealthIT.gov: Learn EHR Basics
A site set up for healthcare professionals to find out more about electronic health records, including privacy issues and the concept of "meaningful use."
Use and Characteristics of Electronic Health Record Systems Among Office-based Physician Practices: United States, 2001-2012
A report from the CDC about how electronic health records have become integrated into the healthcare system.

Encyclopedia Resources on Medical Records

Confidentiality
Winslade, W. (2004). Confidentiality. In S. G. Post (Ed.)Encyclopedia of Bioethics, (Vol. 1). (3rd ed., pp. 494-503) New York: Macmillan Reference USA Retrieved September 7, 2011, from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=txshracd2487

The following are encyclopedia articles on electronic health records and related topics that can be found in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.

Health Information Management
Birdsall, C. (2007). Health Information Management. In J. L. Longe (Ed.)The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, (Vol. 2). (2nd ed., pp. 1233-1235) Detroit: Gale Retrieved September 7, 2011, from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=txshracd2487
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
Potts, M. (2008). Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. In R. W. Kolb (Ed.)Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, (Vol. 3). (pp. 1053-1056) Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc. Retrieved September 7, 2011, from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=txshracd2487
Patient Confidentiality
Martin, J. N. & Strumolo, A. L. (2007). Patient Confidentiality. In J. L. Longe (Ed.)The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, (Vol. 4). (2nd ed., pp. 2041-2043) Detroit: Gale Retrieved September 7, 2011, from Gale Virtual Reference Library via Gale: http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=txshracd2487