Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Highlighted Library Resources
Below are a few highlighted resources you can find in the library. Many other materials are available and can be found by searching the library catalog or the library databases. Some ideas of example keywords to search could be things like:
- autism AND college
- learning disabilities
- college AND disabilities
Succeeding As a Student in the Stem Fields with an Invisible Disability by
Call Number: LC4818.38 .O75 2013
The STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) attract many students with autism, ADD, affective disorders and related invisible disabilities who are highly intelligent and analytical, but who, upon entering higher education, may find that they struggle with independent living and a different way of learning. This is a preparation guide for students and their families that explains everything they need to know about the university experience including classroom behavior, study skills, self-reliance, accessing support services, and when parents should and shouldn't get involved. Offering practical advice and strategies, this is a useful handbook that students can refer to again and again throughout their college years guiding them on their paths to becoming the inventors, scientists, engineers, and computer entrepreneurs of the future.
College Success for Students with Disabilities by
Call Number: LC4818.38 .I64 2016
The demanding workload and fast pace of college often overwhelm students. Without access to the right resources, many of the three million U.S. college students with disabilities fail or drop out--at a much higher rate than their peers. This guide helps students, parents, counselors and psychologists find the appropriate resources and accommodations to help students with disabilities successfully transition to college. The author explains Americans with Disabilities Act laws and outlines steps for requesting and implementing college staff, classroom and testing accommodations. Student testimonies are included, advising on which assistive technologies and resources have worked to achieve academic success.
College for Students with Disabilities by
Call Number: LC4818.38 .C65 2015
Sharing the personal stories of individuals with disabilities who describe both the challenges and successes of their time in higher education, and with a major section on the findings of broad ranging research into the experiences of such students, the book explores the current situation, what works, and how things can be improved. "You are not college material" or "you don't belong in college" are comments frequently heard by students with disabilities. Despite this, college education is now an expected part of the transition to adulthood for many individuals with disabilities. The book includes practical advice to encourage self-advocacy in students with disabilities, and to support the professionals who are facing the challenges alongside them. Covering cerebral palsy, autism spectrum disorders, intellectual disabilities, and much more, this is vital reading for parents, individuals with disabilities, school teachers, college professors, and professionals working with adults with disabilities.
College Success for Students with Physical Disabilities by
Call Number: LC4231 .T54 2012
"College Success for Students With Physical Disabilities" is a college planning guide for students with physical disabilities and chronic medical conditions. Students will learn about their rights under the laws governing education and disability, self-advocacy, choosing a college, how having a physical disability affects admissions testing, the increased responsibilities in college, and how to make sure they get everything they need. The book contains forms, checklists, interviews with other students, advice from college disability services personnel, and profiles of disability-friendly colleges across the United States.
Survival Strategies for People on the Autism Spectrum by
Call Number: RJ506.A9 F59 2006
Marc Fleisher's new self-help guide for autistic teenagers and adults will help readers improve their quality of life and overcome many everyday challenges, be it through the development of independent living skills, building a more varied and fulfilling social life, or mastering a course in higher education and broadening one's opportunities for the future. Marc Fleisher speaks from first hand experience about the coping strategies he himself has had to learn - often the hard way. Written particularly for young people who are just beginning to become independent from their parents, perhaps living in their own home for the first time, this book shows how to approach apparent problems with hope and the expectation of an improved quality of life. Survival Strategies is an invaluable source of advice and reassurance for people with ASDs across a wide age range. Other readers such as relatives and friends of people on the autism spectrum, and professionals such as educators or therapists will find it provides a host of new insights.
- Student Accessibility Services: Each campus has a Student Accessibility Services (SAS) office. You can find their room number on each campus here.
- Library Services for Students with Disabilities: Assistive technology and adaptive equipment are available for your use in any campus Library and Learning Lab. Here is a list of examples of some of the assistive technology and adaptive equipment available.
- ACCess Autism: ACCess Autism will be a student organization created by and maintained for students on the Autism spectrum. This group will provide resources for these students as well as organize events, activities, and outings for members.
Here are just a few external resources that may be helpful. Don't see something that you need? Please contact a librarian and they will be glad to help you find the resources you need!
- Autism Society of Texas: The Autism Society of Texas changes lives by connecting families and individuals to community resources and support throughout Texas. Offerings include support meetings; on-line networking opportunities; Sensory Friendly films; and fun family activities.
- Autism Society: "Provide[s] advocacy, education, information and referral, support, and community at national, state and local levels through our strong nationwide network of Affiliates."
- Bookshare: A free ebook lending library for all qualified U.S. students with reading barriers and schools funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). Qualified individuals who are not students pay a nominal annual fee for their membership, including reduced fees in some countries outside the U.S.
- Career Guide for Students with Disabilities: Understanding the ADA, Knowing Your Rights & Finding Disability Resources.
- Described and Captioned Media Program: Funded by the U.S Department of Education, the DCMP strives to provide equal access to communication and learning to people who are blind, visually impaired, deaf, hard of hearing, or deaf-blind, through its library of videos.
- Directory of Community Resources in Texas: A community managed, searchable (by location, type of resource, age of individual, etc.) directory of many different kinds of resources for persons with disabilities.
- National Association of the Deaf: State and Local Colleges and Universities: State and local colleges and other post-secondary institutions have obligations under two federal laws to provide effective communication with their students and other individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing.
- National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped: A program through the Library of Congress, "NLS is a free braille and talking book library service for [U.S. residents and citizens living abroad] with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical disability that prevents them from reading or holding the printed page."
- Relay Texas: "A service that provides telephone access for people with speech or hearing loss who find it challenging or impossible to use a traditional telephone."
- Texas Health and Human Services: Information about services provided for people with different disabilities.
- U.S. Dept. of Education: Students with Disabilities Preparing for Postsecondary Education: Rights and responsibilities of students with disabilities who are preparing to attend postsecondary schools.