LibGuides: Business Administration: 2. Company Information

2a. Company Information

Information about companies is needed for career research, investment decisions, and business planning and development.

NYPL, Searching for Company Information
The New York Public Library’s Science, Industry and Business Library (SIBL) provides a step-by-step research guide for finding company information.

2b. Company Information -- Annual Reports

All public companies are required to disclose their financial details to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Annual reports provide this information.

Click on the to see additional information about some of these sites.

AnnualReportService.com
Founded in 1985 and on the Web since 1996, AnnualReportService.com is the oldest and largest free annual report service. The directory lists over 4,500 annual reports and 10-K Filings for online viewing. Companies are added daily. Registration is required
more...less...
for access.
GuideStar
Financial data is available on non-profit organizations in the U.S., but you must register (free) to view the information. GuideStar Basic provides a simple search for users who want to verify a nonprofit's legitimacy, view a nonprofit's recent Forms 990,
more...less...
or find out more about its mission and programs. GuideStar Premium service provides access to full financials (including revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets).
PRARS
Company financials, including annual reports, prospectuses or 10k's on over 3,600 public companies are available without charge to the investing public. Requests to Public Register's Annual Report Service are processed within 24 hours and are shipped free
more...less...
of charge (U.S. mailing addresses only).
SEDAR
System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval (SEDAR) is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities. You can search for annual reports of Canadian companies, in
more...less...
English or in French, by company name or industry group. Most reports are in .pdf format, although some are Microsoft Word or Word Perfect documents. To retrieve reports, you must agree to Terms of Use and site restrictions. Public company profiles are also available from a basic alphabetic search.
The Wall Street Journal Annual Reports
The Annual Reports Service provides you with quick access to U.S., Canadian and European annual reports. "Your request will be processed and shipped [free of charge] the next business day for all in stock reports. New companies are added weekly. You'll
more...less...
receive the latest edition, and where possible, be registered for the new report once it's received." You can select "Alpha" to view all of the companies by alphabetical listing or "Industry" to view all of the companies by industry.

2c. Company Information -- Profiles

Click on the to see additional information about some of these sites.

ThomasNet
Powered by ThomasRegister® and ThomasRegional®. You can search by company name, brand name, or product/service for U.S. public and private manufacturers. There are over 60,000 product heading categories and over 5500 on-line supply catalogs in this
more...less...
database.

2d. Company Information -- Company and Industry News

Magazines, Newspapers, and Journals
See the listing of search tools and specific titles on the Magazine / Newspapers / and Journals page.
Industry News Archive - Yahoo! Finance
This site provides news and opinion by industry (search alphabetically or by sector), by provider, and press releases.

Subject Guide

Jeremy Donald

Contact:

Faculty Librarian/Associate Professor
Northridge Campus Library Rm 1220.1
11928 Stonehollow Dr.
Austin, TX 78758
jeremy.donald@austincc.edu

512-223-4742