Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Adult Education: Reading & Writing Skills

Helpful resources for students in Adult Education classes preparing for a High School Equivalency exam

Search the ACC Catalog

Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.

 

 

Keywords for Searching the ACC Catalog

Suggested keywords to search the catalog.

Writing GED [or substitute Hiset or TASC for GED]

Language Arts GED [or substitute Hiset or TASC for GED]

Reading (adult education)

English grammar

Reading comprehension

Reading skills

Writer's Reference Center

From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this database covers the fundamentals of writing a good essay.
(This is a library database available only to ACC students and staff. You will need to authenticate with your ACC eID and password to access it off campus.)

Basic Skills Websites: General and Reading/Writing-Focused

khan academy logo           Grammar

Salman Khan has recorded 1200+ high quality YouTube videos covering many subjects.  The video library is divided into categories for easy searching.  This Grammar section covers topics in English Grammar.  

------------------------------------------------------------------------

 
Goodwill Community Foundation Logo
These free online materials from Goodwill Community Foundation cover basic technology, literacy, and math skills.  Separate sections focus on Everyday LifeMathComputer Training/Technology, and Work & Career.  There is also a Learning to Read module.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Literacy works logo

 This site is designed to help adults improve basic literacy skills using current news stories. Each module includes the full text of the story, audio and video clips, and interactive activities to test comprehension.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

neoK12 logo

A collection of educational videos from all over the web arranged by broad subject area.  Physical sciencelife scienceearth and spacemathsocial studies and language arts are all covered.  The site provides appropriate resources for students at all grade levels.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Films on Demand

 

 

 

Free, 24/7 access forAustin Community College students, faculty and staff to hundreds of curriculum-focused videos.  Create an account, log in, and start searching. (Have your Austin Community College eID and password ready, if viewing from off campus.)

For help with grammar, punctuation, and basic reading and writing skills, try one of these titles.  Click on the link to view the video.  

Daily Grammar

Online Dictionaries and Wordfinders

Online Writing Tools and Handouts

Online Reading Tips

Active Reading


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College