Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Adult Education: Career Info

Helpful resources for students in Adult Education classes preparing for a High School Equivalency exam

Online Information

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Published annually by the U.S. Dept. of Labor online. It includes a summary for individual careers, work environment, job outlook, related careers and how much money you can expect to earn.  You can search for careers that require only a high school diploma, or search for any career choice that interests you and discover what you need to qualify for jobs in that career.

NOTE: several ACC Libraries also have this publication available as a print book.  Occupational Outlook Handbook

 

 

Print Reference Book in ACC Libraries

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance  

Comprehensive overviews of 120 career fields and industries offers the latest information on job duties, salaries and employment trends for more than 820 professions. Sidebars provide additional reading on industry issues and history, useful websites, industry jargon and much more.

 

Explore Your Chosen Career

Get Help in Choosing a Career and Preparing For It

 Career Readiness Handbook

This Handbook is published by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Texas Workforce Commission.  Inside this booklet you will find information on how to prepare for a career while you are in college.  

ACC Career Services

Austin Community College provides a variety of career services to help students. Career services counselors will help with career exploration, development of job search skills and help with locating employment and career information

Need More Help?

Visit the Library Services Career Information research guide.  It covers areas such as career information for Austin and Texas, how to write resumes and cover letters, interviewing, how to find books, media and articles about careers and job hunting.


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College