Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ESL Best Plus 2.0 Placement Test for ESL Classes
The Adult Education Department at ACC uses the
Best Plus 2.0 literacy test to place students in ESL classes. Resources listed below on this page can help you practice and improve your English language abilities. One specific resource recommended by the Adult Education Department that you may want to use is . It is a free website for adults to learn English and prepare for U.S. citizenship. Here you can practice English speaking, reading, writing, listening, grammar, vocabulary and more. Now, you can even prepare for your naturalization interview to become a U.S. citizen! USA Learns
Grammar and Usage
Activities for ESL Students
This website offers bilingual quizzes, puzzles, and activities to practice grammar, vocabulary, and pronunciation in English.
This website includes quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities for those learning English.
This website offers free registration for English lessons in speaking, vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation, listening, reading, writing, and life skills.
Dave's ESL Cafe
This is a helpful resource for learning English slang, idioms, verbs, and pronunciation.
These resources are designed for ESL students and teachers; including tests, quizzes, and guides to grammar and usage.
5 Minute English-Grammar
This website offers 5 minute lessons on English grammar.
5 Minute English-Slang/Idioms
This website provides 5 minute lessons on English slang and idioms.
This English Daily website defines and provides examples for common American idioms.
Common Errors in English
This is a searchable database of hundreds of errors people frequently make when using the English language.
This is an English grammar guide plus quizzes to check understanding.
This website offers tutorials on English grammar.
This website provides several useful reference tools related to English grammar and idioms including glossaries, quizzes, and resources for teachers.
This website provides online "Learn English" forums for students to participate in discussions and ask questions.
English Club Grammar Quizzes
This English Club site offers quizzes on English grammar that cover general grammar, parts of speech, and verbs.
Advanced English Grammar Exercises
This website provides English grammar quizzes on a variety of areas such as verbs, prepositions, adjectives and adverbs, pronouns, etc.
American English Dictionary for Students of ESL, EFL, and the TOEFL Test
This learner's dictionary from Merriam-Webster's includes a dictionary, vocabulary quiz from current events, word of the day, pronunciation practice, and more.
This English Club site offers vocabulary resources for English words and expressions.
5 Minute English-Vocabulary
This website provides 5 minute lessons on English vocabulary
This webpage offers a variety of resources focused on English vocabulary.
This website allows students to study existing vocabulary flashcards organized by language or or create your own flashcards.
20-Minute ESL Lessons
This website provides English vocabulary audio lessons to help students understand and use vocabulary in everyday life.
ThoughtCo. English for Business and Work
This website includes English vocabulary related to business and the workplace as well as English job interview tips.
This website allows you to download a free trial of Vocaboly 3.0, vocabulary building software, where each word is given along with its meaning, phonetic symbol, and pronunciation. Quizzes are provided as well to test your skills.
English Club Vocabulary Quizzes
This website provides quizzes on English words covering a variety of vocabulary such as idioms, slang, and sports words.
This website provides resources for building English speaking skills.
This webpage offers a variety of resources focused on English conversation skills.
English for Business
The British Council and BBC provide lesson plans and worksheets related to using English in business, including lessons on socializing, meetings, and negotiations.
These are resources to help learn and and practice English reading skills.
English Club Reading Quizzes
This website provides quizzes to test your understanding of English written language.
5 Minute English-Reading
This website provides 5 Minute English reading lessons.
This website offers a variety of resources for practicing English reading skills.
Voice of America: Learning English
This website includes English news stories written for beginning to advanced English language learners.
This is a free, digital archive containing full-text access to thousands of classic works of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry.
On this website, you can find in-depth study guides on a variety of contemporary novels.
Includes audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for over 40,000 children's and young adult books in English and Spanish.
This is a guide to English writing including resources to build skills with the alphabet, spelling, punctuation, and writing prompts.
Purdue Online Writing Lab ESL Resources
This resource focuses on grammatical and mechanical rules for writing in the English language, including adjectives, adverbs, punctuation, prepositions, and verb tenses.
This website offers a variety of resources for practicing English writing skills
PIZZAZ: People Interested in Zippy and ZAny Zcribbling
Here you can find creative writing and storytelling activities for beginner to advanced English language learners.
English Club Spelling Quizzes
This website provides spelling quizzes on commonly misspelled words, American spelling, British spelling, and spelling rules.
Find Print Books in the Library
Here are some of the keywords you can use to search the catalog to locate books you can use to study English
English Second Language
Need to Take the TOEFL Test?
Find study guides for the TOEFL test and related books, such as writing for the TOEFL or vocabulary for the TOEFL.
The following link performs a search in the ACC Libraries catalog for books to help with the test.
Click here: -- TOEFL
Good Luck TOEFL
Writing practice can be hard to obtain, but Good Luck TOEFL is a resource dedicated to helping you improve this skill. It contains hundreds of activities to help get better at writing, which are helpfully organized into five categories for your ease.
If you are an international student you may find useful information in the ACC Library Guide for
Research TipUse the "site:__" command to limit your searches to specific types of websites. For instance, searching for "grammar site:edu" will limit the results to educational websites.
Is It Credible?
Who wrote the article? Think about the author's qualifications, education, profession, etc.
What does the article say? Does the content address the topic of your paper? Is it written at an appropriate level?
When was the article published? Is it current or out-of-date?
Where was the article published? Did it run in a popular magazine or a scholarly publication? What kind of website is hosting this information?
Why was the article written? Does the author have an agenda or bias?
P - Professional publication (scholarly or academic journal, etc.)
A - Author is reputable
R - References to other scholarly or academic sources
C - Current data / information
A - Accurate information
Currency: How timely is the information?
Relevance: How closely does the information meet your needs?
Authority: Who or what is the source of the information?
Accuracy: How reliable, truthful, and correct is the content?
Purpose: Why does the information exist?
Thanks to the Original Creator of Most Boxes on this Page
Most of the content on this ESL page came from the libguide created by Shawna Thorup that is titled
English for Bilingual Students. It is available to libguide creators through the Community Guides.