EDUCATION
Master of Science in Information Studies
University of Texas at Austin Austin, TX
Bachelor of Arts in English with Special Honors
University of Texas at Austin Austin, TX
EXPERIENCE
Faculty Librarian/Assistant Professor Elgin Campus Library, Austin Community College, Elgin, TX November 2016 - present
- Co-leader of the Early College High School/Dual Credit team for Library Services.
- Co-lead collection development of the McNaughton, Reference, and miscellaneous collections at the Elgin Campus.
- Information Literacy sessions at area high schools to students in the Early College High School/Dual Credit program.
- Information Literacy sessions to students in all disciplines as requested by faculty.
- Developed synchronous and asynchronous content for Information Literacy sessions.
- Reference services via telephone, chat, Zoom, and in-person to students, faculty, and staff utilizing print and electronic resources.
- Collection development for the entire college in the areas of Anthropology (FY 2018-2020), Agricultural Sciences (FY 2020-present), World Languages (departmental name change from Foreign Languages, Fall 2023) (FY 2018-present), and Veterinary Technology (FY 2019-present).
- Module Development for the Teaching and Learning Academy.
- Created online extra credit book club experiences for students, in partnership with classroom faculty, to foster persistence and a sense of belonging, Fall 2018 to the present.
- Titles include Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, The Call of the Wild by Jack London, The Turn of the Screw by Henry James, and Women Write the World (a collection of short stories by women authors).
- Special projects as assigned and needed. Examples include:
- Veterinary Technology and Agricultural Sciences core list creation.
- Agricultural Sciences Collection creation
- Anthropology Core Collection review
- Foreign Language Reserves Collection review
- Foreign Language Multi-Language review
- Current Library Services and College committees:
- Early College High School/Dual Credit
- Opening Day Collection
- Blue Cloud Course List Collection Development
- Interlibrary Loan
- Previous Library Services Committees:
- Information Literacy Council (2018-2022)
- Library Representative for Southern Association of College and Schools Accreditation committee for Early College High Schools and Dual Credit (Fall 2018, Fall 2022)
- Information Literacy Team (2016-2018)
- Previous College Service Committees:
- Various hiring committees for faculty, classified, and hourly staff hiring.
- National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships Accreditation Committee
- Elgin Green Team
Hourly Academic Librarian Elgin Campus Library, Austin Community College, Elgin, TX January 2015-November 2016
- Provided reference services via telephone, chat, and in-person to students, faculty, and staff utilizing print and electronic resources.
- Maintained daily statistics of patron usage of the library.
- Participated in collection development of the McNaughton, Reference, and miscellaneous collections at the Elgin campus.
- Created monthly displays to generate interest in the library's collection.
- Created programs, including The Reading Challenge and Blind Date with a Book/Movie, to engage and encourage patrons to utilize the library and its resources.
- Completed special projects as needed and assigned.
Librarian East Travis Gateway Library District Garfield, TX October 2012-January 2015
- Performed circulation duties.
- Provided reference via telephone and in-person when applicable.
- Assisted patrons with computer questions and problems
- Assisted patrons with photocopier and fax machine.
- Opened and closed library during shift.
Librarian Texas State Library and Archives Commission Austin, TX May 2007-September 2008
- Provided telephone, email, mail, and in-person reference services to the general public, state agencies, and all persons interested in present and historical Texas.
- Provided telephone, email, mail, and in-person reference services to those persons interested in genealogical material.
- Maintained and created web pages for the Archives and Information Services division.
- Responsible for maintaining and disposing of content in the Reference vertical file.
- Completed special projects as assigned and needed.
- Processed daily periodicals.
Librarian North Central Texas College Corinth, TX January 2006-April 2007
- Provided reference and public services to students, faculty, and staff utilizing both electronic and print resources.
- Provided Library Instruction sessions to students in all disciplines and educational levels as requested by faculty.
- Supervised a staff of 10-12 student workers.
- Maintained and compiled statistics for the library and computer lab.
- Maintained schedules and timesheets for students assistants.
- Created tools for use by students and faculty including Works Cited and How-To Sheets.
- Served as the liaison for the collection development of the Allied Health Sciences departments.
- Completed special projects as assigned and needed.
- Processed daily periodicals.
Bibliographic Instruction and Reference Librarian/Assistant Professor Catawba College Salisbury, NC August 2004-December 2005
- Provided reference to students, faculty, and staff utilizing both electronic and print resources.
- Coordinated all Bibliographic Instruction aspects including the Library Components of the day and evening programs, individual Bibliographic Instruction classes in all disciplines, and additional Bibliographic and Information Literacy needs.
- Provided Bibliographic Instruction sessions to students in all disciplines and educational levels as requested by faculty.
- Taught Information and Technology classes to First Year and LifeLong Learning students as an Assistant Professor.
- Integrated and developed Bibliographic Instruction sessions into a new First Year Program.
- Served as the liaison for the collection development of the departments of Theatre, Music, Foreign Languages, and Communication Arts.
- Created tools for use by students including a Works Cited guide.
- Served on faculty committees, including the Budget committee, the Library Renovation committee, the First Year Seminar, and a Library Director Hiring committee, as needed and assigned.
Library Assistant I Fine Arts Library University of Texas at Austin Austin, TX September 2001-August 2004
- Provided reference services to students, faculty, and staff utilizing both print and electronic resources.
- Digitized audio material for use as electronic reserves.
- Trained student staff in circulation and page duties.
- Processed print and audiovisual reserves.
- Completed special projects as assigned and needed.
Hourly Academic Librarian Northridge Campus Library Austin Community College Austin, TX May-August 2004
- Provided reference to students using print and electronic resources.
- Taught an Information Literacy class.
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
(Co-Presenter) Easing the Dual Credit Transition from K-12 to College with Kristyn Pittman and James Loomis. Texas Library Association Conference, April 23, 2023.
(Co-Presenter) Building Community in Any Classroom with Dr. Ursula Parker. Austin Community College Spring Development Day, January 12, 2023.
(Participant) Becoming an Equity Minded Instructor. Austin Community College Teaching and Learning Excellence Division, May 2021-July 2021.
(Participant) Teaching and Learning Academy. Austin Community College Teaching and Learning Excellence Division, September 2020-April 2021.
(Co-presenter) "Better Together in Elgin: ACC and ECHS Libraries" with Renee De Hoyos, Greater Austin Area Information Literacy Symposium, Austin Community College, February 21, 2020.
(Co-presenter) "Collaboration Makes Us Better: high school and college partnerships" with James Loomis, Texas Library Association District 3 meeting, breakout session, Austin Community College, October 14, 2019.
(Presenter) "Creating Community on Campus: an online book club experience" at the Texas Library Association Library Instruction Roundtable Summit, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, September 13, 2019.
(Developer) "Setting and Maintaining a Positive Tone in the Classroom" scripts with Dr. Ursula Parker. Teaching and Learning Academy Module Building a Community of Learners. Austin Community College Teaching and Learning Excellence Division, Spring/Summer 2019.
(Presenter) Plenary Session, "Putting the Community in Community College" with Dr. Jackie Burns and Carrie Kaplan. Concurrent Session, "Don't Dread the Icebreaker: strategies to increase relationships in class." Project ACC Faculty Institute, June 10-14, 2019.
(Presenter) "Building Community and Beyond." Austin Community College Spring Development Day, Austin, Texas, January 18, 2019.
(Fellow) Project ACC Faculty Institute Project, Ready Player One Book Club, Austin Community College, Elgin Campus, Fall 2018 - Fall 2019.
(Presenter) "Collaboration Makes Us Better: high school and college librarians." Texas Library Association Library Instruction Roundtable Summit, Tarleton State University, Fort Worth, Texas, September 21, 2018.
(Participant) Project ACC Faculty Institute, Austin Community College Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning, June 4-9, 2018.
(Presenter) "We're All on the Same Team; Taking the College Library Onto the High School Campus." Texas Library Association Library Instruction Roundtable Summit, Houston Community College, Houston, Texas, September 22, 2017.
(Participant) Celebration of Great Teaching Retreat, Austin Community College Faculty Development Department, Bandera, Texas, March 31 - April 2, 2017.
(Co-presenter) "Information Literacy on the Road: Taking the College Library into the High School Classroom." Greater Austin Information Literacy Symposium, Austin Community College, Austin, Texas, February 3, 2017.
(Panelist) “Bibliographic Instruction Issues in Academic Libraries,” North Carolina Library Association Biennial Conference, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, September 22, 2005.
(Participant) ACRL Institute for Information Literacy Immersion ’05 Program, St. Petersburg, Florida, July 29 – August 3, 2005.
(Speaker Liaison) “Planning the Next Step in Your Library Career: Strategies for Keeping Pace with the Changing Library Environment” sponsored by the New Members Roundtable President’s Program Committee, June 25, 2005.
(Co-presenter) “ ‘If I Can Read, I Can Do Anything’: Promoting Reading at Schools on or Near Reservations,” 7th Annual Diversity Fair, American Library Association Annual Conference, Orlando, Florida, June 26, 2004.
GRANTS/SCHOLARSHIPS/AWARDS
National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Award for Excellence, Austin Community College, November 2019.
Riverbats BRAVO Award, Austin Community College, Elgin, October 2017.
Riverbats BRAVO Excellence Award, Austin Community College, Elgin, February 2016.
Catawba College Faculty Research & Development Grant to attend Immersion ’05.
ACRL Institute for Information Literacy Executive Committee Scholarship to attend Immersion ’05.
Library Services and Technology Act 2004-2005 Career Enrichment Grant to attend the NCLA Conference.
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS/SERVICE
- 13 years experience in Librarianship
- 16 years experience in Library Services
