Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can you tell if a web site is trustworthy or not? It's not always easy, but there are things that you can look for that will help you decide.
- Who is the author? Are they qualified to talk about this subject?
- How accurate is the information? You may need to compare what you find with another source to answer this question.
- Who is the audience? This can influence how much detail is included.
- What point of view is being represented? All sites have a bias, but is it obvious or are they trying to hide something?
- How up to date is the site? Does it matter? In the Arts and Humanities it might not be crucial to have last minute information.
Useful Websites: Statistics & Data
ACC Institutional Research
ACC's Office of Institutional Effectiveness & Accountability collects and publishes research and statistics about the College.
Texas State Data Center
This government website contains demographic information about the people in the state of Texas. Much of the data it contains is relevant to controversial topics and policies.
USA Data & Statistics
This government website contains data about the U.S., including maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Features statistical data series created from more than 400,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, and ZIP codes.
Useful Websites: Current Event Sites
Austin American-Statesman (free website + paywall)
Founded in 1871, the AAS is Austin's major daily newspaper.
Austin American-Statesman (library database)
ACC Libraries' subscription to the AAS is full-text back to 1989.
The web version of the “alternative” weekly publication. Selected articles are available in full text for the past two or three years. Up-to-date listings of cultural and social events are a strong point.
Built in partnership with the Austin American-Statesman, this site features news, videos, classifieds, and weather info.
The University of Texas student newspaper’s online edition. Almost all the articles are available in full text the day of publication. Earlier issues are also available.
Breaking news, weather, sports, and video.
Local news and investigative reports.
Austin's NPR station. News on national and local issues.
Useful Websites: Local Government
City of Austin
This site has links to most anything you would like to know about the city and its services. Type of information includes Austin Police Department, the Austin Public Library, local roadwork projects, and much more.
Travis County elects several individuals to manage local government, including county commissioners, county judge, and sheriff. This site has information about these offices, plus pages concerning voter registration and the latest local election results.
Lower Colorado River Authority
The LCRA is a public entity that manages water, land and power issues surrounding the lower reaches of the Colorado River in Texas.
This is the official website for Williamson County.
City of Round Rock
This is the official website for the city of Round Round, TX.
City of Kyle
This is the official website of the City of Kyle, TX.
Useful Websites: COVID-19 & Vaccines
How to spot fake news - IFLA
Need More Help?
Need more help finding information on the Internet and interpreting the results? See our study guide.