Technical Theater : Books & eBooks

A complete, step-by-step guide to CARPENTRY AND CONSTRUCTION Revised and updated, Carpentry & Construction, Fifth Edition, takes you through every step of house construction in such detail that you can use it to build your own home! Clear instructions, along with more than 1,500 photographs and illustrations, demonstrate each phase of construction--from selecting tools, to pouring the foundation, to finishing the interior. This how-to handbook also covers remodeling, additions, and repairs. Whether you're a do-it-yourselfer or a professional contractor, you'll find all the task-simplifying details you need for your projects, each logically organized by building stages. Learn how to tackle: Footings and foundations Framing and roofing Windows and doors Exterior and interior walls Wiring Plumbing Insulation Interior finishing Kitchen and bathroom remodeling Tiling Solar heating Termite prevention Skylights Fences, decks, and patios Private ater and sewage systems And much more Featuring new material covering the latest green building options, tools of the trade, construction methods, code updates, and a 16-page color insert, this book helps you get the job done better and faster. There's no other resource that covers the home building process as thoroughly and expertly as Carpentry & Construction, Fifth Edition.

Everything from early conceptual work through performance and touring are covered in this how-to book for dance management. Dancers will create a fictional company and follow it through a myriad of steps and complexities necessary for a successful production and troupe. After establishing a mission statement; holding auditions; and considering the specific needs of music, sound, lighting, costuming, and make up, the manual provides would-be dance directors with basic theater terminology and the skills needed when planning marketing and public relations campaigns.

Veteran theater designers Karen Brewster and Melissa Shafer have consulted with a broad range of seasoned theater industry professionals to provide an exhaustive guide full of sound advice and insight. With clear examples and hands-on exercises, Fundamentals of Theatrical Design illustrates the way in which the three major areas of theatrical design--scenery, costumes, and lighting--are intrinsically linked. Attractively priced for use as a classroom text, this is a comprehensive resource for all levels of designers and directors.

In Producing Great Sound for Film and Video, Fourth Edition audio guru Jay Rose revises his popular text for a new generation of filmmakers. You¿ll learn practical, time-saving ways to get better recordings, solve problems with existing audio, create compelling tracks, and boost your filmmaking to the next level! Here you¿ll find real-world advice and practical guidelines for every aspect of your soundtrack: planning and budgeting, field and studio recording, editing, sound effects and music, audio repair, processing, and mixing. Rose¿s combination of solid technical information and a clear, step-by-step approach has made this the go-to book for producers and film students for over a decade. New in this edition: Insights and from-the-trenches tips from top professionals Instructions for getting the best results from new DSLRs and digital recorders An all-new companion website www.GreatSound.info with downloadable diagnostics, examples, and exercises for you to try What you need to know about new regulations for wireless mics and broadcast loudness An expanded "How Do I Fix This?" section to help you solve problems quickly Whether you¿re an aspiring filmmaker who wants better tracks, or an experienced professional looking for a reference, Producing Great Sound for Film and Video, Fourth Edition has the information you need. Please visit the book's companion website for more information and companion files: http://www.GreatSound.info  

(Music Pro Guides). This one-of-a-kind handbook describes through photos, line diagrams, and step-by-step instructions how the average student, enthusiast, voice-over talent, editor, engineer, musician, and/or producer can easily connect any of the various types of analog or digital audio, video, and MIDI equipment in their studio setups. Readers will also be able to identify, purchase, and connect the specific A/V and MIDI equipment necessary for any creative job. Easy to understand and fun to use, The Complete Guide to Connecting Audio, Video, and MIDI Equipment will bring a professional or home-based studio completely up to date and up to maximum speed, making the music come alive.

The Handbook of Stage Costume is a comprehensive guide to designing, finding, and creating costumes for the stage. Straightforward and accessible, the book aims to give you the skills and the confidence to dress a variety of theater productions, from a full-scale musical to an abstract, improvised performance. It explains production meetings and the structure of a theatre company; working to a budget; the importance of costume to actor and audience; shopping, cutting, and making; costume for devised and physical theatre production; managing the wardrobe; and technical and dress rehearsals.

Learn first-rate techniques and tips from some of the best makeup artists in the business in the new edition of The Makeup Artist Handbook. Renown makeup pros Gretchen Davis and Mindy Hall bring an impressive set of experience in all areas to the book, including work on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Steve Jobs, The Wolf of Wall Street, Blue Jasmine, Star Trek, Pearl Harbor, HBO¿s Looking and many other films and TV shows. This full-color, comprehensive new edition offers brand new photographs and on-the-job examples to demonstrate makeup techniques and fundamentals on topics such as beauty, time periods, black and white photography and up-to-date information on cutting-edge techniques like computer-generated characters, makeup effects, mold-making, air brushing, and plenty of information on how to work effectively on set.

Experienced prop maker Eric Hart walks readers through techniques used in historical and contemporary prop making and demonstrates how to apply them to a variety of materials. Hundreds of full-color photographs illustrate the tools and techniques used by professional prop makers throughout the entertainment industry. New features to the second edition include: Updated information on the latest tools and materials used in prop making Both metric and standard measuring units Step-by-step photos on common techniques such as upholstery, mold making, and faux finishing Expanded coverage of thermoplastics, foam, and water-based coatings

Welding: Skills, Processes, and Practices for Entry-Level Welders is an exciting new series that has been designed specifically to support the American Welding Society's (AWS) SENSE EG2.0 training guidelines. Offered in three volumes, these books are carefully crafted learning tools consisting of theory-based texts that are accompanied by companion lab manuals, and extensive instructor support materials. With a logical organization that closely follows the modular structure of the AWS guidelines, the series will guide readers through the process of acquiring and practicing welding knowledge and skills. For schools already in the SENSE program, or for those planning to join, Welding: Skills, Processes, and Practices for Entry-Level Welders offers a turnkey solution of high quality teaching and learning aids.

In the first book of its kind to be published in twenty years, ten award-winning and current Broadway designers--five set designers, four lighting designers, and one projection designer--discuss the business aspects of the theatre world, sharing relevant insider information and strategies that will prove invaluable to aspiring and seasoned theatrical designers alike. Culled from years of experience, the information offered in these enlightening conversations will strengthen readers' understanding of how designing in the commercial theatre is different from designing in an academic setting or not-for-profit theatres. The conversations are accompanied by designer sketches, finished drawings, technical plates of drafting, photos of scale models, storyboards illustrating multi-scene productions and unique lighting looks, and photos from Broadway and regional theatre productions. If you've ever wondered what it really takes to make it in the world of theatre design, let these Broadway stars be your guide!

The theater is in the midst of a digital revolution! This book provides readers with an easy-to-understand overview of the digital technology currently available for the stage. In clear language, Digital Technical Theater Simplified explains digital technology in the fields of lighting, audio, video, and show control. All chapters contain do-it-yourself examples of how anyone can use these advanced technologies, as well as case studies of "How the Pros Do It."