This is a sample of the many international films available for free streaming in Kanopy. Browse the "World Cinema" category or use the search box.
These online encyclopedias will help you locate background information about film directors and their careers, key films, and other information about the movements and time periods they were a part of. Note the dates of each publication (2000, 2007); you will not find more recent material than 2007 here.
These library databases are your best bets for articles from film journals and magazines. Note: these are general, multi-subject databases, so you will have to be careful to identify material relevant to film history and cinema studies.
These are a few of the film journals with the strongest coverage of film history, classical Hollywood cinema, international film movements, and key film directors. You will find them in the article databases above. When you see them appear in your search results, pay attention--they're more likely to be great academic sources for your papers. Full-text coverage varies, so I note the database where it appears and the years of coverage below.
If you follow direct links below, select a database under "Full Text Access." Once the database opens, choose to search "In this Journal" (JSTOR) or "Search within this publication" (Humanities Full-Text).
Getting the most out of this free, online article index takes a little work. But stick with me...
This is a free index of film articles published between 1976-2001, so first of all, make sure what you're looking for would fall into this date range.
Try searching a film director or film title. Your search results will include an exhaustive list of citations (article info), but not links to articles.
You'll have go back to ACC Libraries, and work backwards from the citation, to see if we have the article!
This can be tricky! Contact us by 24/7 Live Chat and we'll help you look.