Skip to main content

ACC Libraries Tech Toolbox: Databases

Helpful resources for working with a variety of technologies available to you at ACC.

Library E-Books

The ACC Library has access to thousands of full-text e-books! Go to our page on  Online eBooks for more information, to see a list of our vendors, and to start reading!

Downloading E-Books

Thousands of our e-books are even downloadable, so you can read them on your (compatible) device!

Find out how to download some of our e-books to your computer or compatible device.

What is a Database?

The ACC Libraries subscribe to dozens of databases. These are collections of higher quality online resources. They're just like using the web, but with quality control of the content and, usually, extra features, such as the ability to e-mail content, generate citations, translate into other languages, etc. If you're off campus, use your ACC eID to access these.

These databases have all sorts of resources: articles, reference sources, images, music, and much more.

Accessing Streaming Media (videos and music)

The Library subscribes to thousands of educational streaming videos and music. You can access them from any device with internet access. Off campus, you'll use your ACC eID to get in.

Finding Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles

You can search from the library home page or directly by choosing a database. Most databases feature a check box on the results page so you can retrieve only articles that are from peer-reviewed, academic or scholarly journals. Look for a checkbox for you to limit your search results to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals only.  For a quick search:

  • Use the search box in the middle of the library home page under the heading Find BooksArticles, and More.
  • Enter the search keywords:  your keywords here
  • Your results will show in two tabs 1-- Books, movies, and music  2- Journals magazines, news (articles)
  • For articles, you can then limit to full-text and/or scholarly (or peer-reviewed) articles by clicking those limits in the right sidebar.

Page Editor

Page Editor: Margaret Peloquin June 2018


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College