Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Library Database Tools and Tips: Intro to Library Databases

Most databases have common elements which help streamline your research and save time. This How-To guide shares tools and tips for using the library databases at ACC.

About Library Databases

A library database is a searchable electronic storehouse for ACC subscription materials. Think of it as a Netflix for academic research articles, films, and e-books, designed specifically for college student research.

Library databases include a variety of online resources such as:

  • Journal and newspaper articles
  • E-books
  • Films

The library has some databases that cover multiple disciplines, as well as specialized that focus in on one particular area. You may search databases by subject or by name from the A-Z Library Databases. If you are not sure where to start, try using multiple-subject database first.

If you use Google to find an article, you may be asked to pay for an article. The Library's databases provide free access to resources normally closed off and behind a paywall on the web, so be sure to start your search from the ACC Library Services home page..  

Librarians can help you research your topic, find the best sources, or locate a citation

Using the Discovery Interface

Created by Vija G. Mendelson

About Library eBooks

Created by Vija G. Mendelson

Video Developer / Hourly Academic Librarian

Vija G. Mendelson's picture
Vija G. Mendelson
Contact:
Hourly Instruction Librarian
Elgin Campus Library
Austin Community College
1501 W. US HWY 290
Elgin, TX 78621
vija.mendelson@austincc.edu
512-223-9435

Expert Librarian

Courtney Mlinar's picture
Courtney Mlinar
Contact:
Head Librarian / Associate Professor
Elgin Campus Library
Austin Community College
1501 W HWY 290
Elgin, TX 78621
courtney.mlinar@austincc.edu
512-223-9433

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College