Books & eBooks - POFT 1171 - Huerta - Summer2023 - LibGuides at Austin Community College

Quick Search For Books

Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.

Ways to Search

When you search the catalog you can choose how you want to search. Some of the most commonly used are Author, Title, or LC Subject. Leaving the search set to the default setting Keywords is the best search for most things.

You can also limit by campus library or material type. Search defaults to all campus libraries, unless you choose a specific location.

Keywords / Search Strategies

When searching the catalog and e-resources, try some of the following terms:

vocational guidance
career exploration
career
job
work

eBook Collecions

ACC Libraries have tens of thousands of e-books available 24/7 on your preferred device. You can access them from the list below by publisher/platform name, or individually via the library catalog, or by publisher/platform name through the A-Z List of Databases page.

E-books are identified in the catalog by an icon of a blue book with an "e" on the cover.

ASHP eBooks: Pharmacy Tech Collection This link opens in a new window
e-Book collection of pharmacy specific clinical and management information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Includes CQ Almanac, Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents Series, and Politics in America. To access, you may need to choose "Institution" and then "Access via Your Institution." Next, choose Austin Community College.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
e-Book collection of over16,000 titles.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Online collection of e-books on most topics.
Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
eBook collection from fashion publisher, Bloomsbury. Topics include: construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more. Many titles include interactive features such as quizzes, projects, case studies, and self-assessment.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Nursing Books @ OVID This link opens in a new window
Online collection of biomedical and nursing e-books.
O'Reily for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Over 45,000 titles from O’Reilly and 200+ trusted publishers, including Harvard Business Review, Pearson, and more. Also includes 30,000 hours of video from industry leaders as well as case studies from top companies.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
This eBook collection, Oxford Scholarship Online, houses thousands of works from 24 leading scholarly presses and covers 20 subject areas.
Salem Press (Careers, Health, History, Literature, Science) This link opens in a new window
e-Book collection of reference titles in literature, science, history, health, and careers.

Use a Subject Guide!

Each subject guide on the library's website should have a tab on career information related to that subject or area of study. Find the subject guide related to your career and use the career tab to find books, websites and other resources related to careers in that filed.