Exploring American Identities Research Essay Assignment - Library Resources - ENGL 1301: Spaventa Spring '24

Magazine/Newspaper/Journal Article Databases

Below is a list of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles databases that may contain information related to your ENGL 1301 research assignment. This is not a full list of all of the databases that ACC subscribes to and these are not the only databases that may contain information in support of your assignment. You may see the full list of ACC databases here.

List of all ACC Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
American History
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Bloom's Literature
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Drama Online
Offering written plays, video, acting classes, scholarly critical books, and audio plays, Drama Online supports English Shakespeare curriculum, drama practitioner curriculum, and more.
Fuente Academica Premier
Spanish and English-language articles from scholarly journals published in Latin America, Portugal and Spain on all major subject areas. (Artículos en español y en idioma Inglés de revistas científicas publicadas en América Latina , Portugal y España en todas las principales áreas temáticas. )
Gale Academic OneFile
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.
Gale General OneFile
General-interest periodical resource with millions of articles from magazines and journals.
Gale in Context: World History
Articles, essays, and primary documents about world history.
Gale Literature Criticism
Includes both Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism -- extensive compilation of literary commentary -- and Gale's Short Story Criticism -- thousands of essays on the critical response to short story writers
Gale Literature Resource Center
Contains up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR

Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
LGBTQ+ Source

Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Literary Reference Source

Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
MasterFILE Complete

Articles on most topics including business, health, education, science, and social issues.
Newspaper Source Plus

Articles from hundreds of domestic and international newspapers and news magazines.
The New York Times

All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website.
First time users register using your ACC email at Access NYTime URL: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Articles on topics in psychiatry, psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
SocINDEX with Full Text

Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
The Wall Street Journal Online (website)
All ACC faculty, students, and staff have unlimited access to WSJ.com, WSJ apps, podcasts, curated newsletters, and more. You must first register using your ACC email at WSJ.com/AustinCC. More information can be found at The Wall Street Journal: Membership Program - https://researchguides.austincc.edu/WSJ

Site license for articles from 1984 to the present.
Washington Post

Newspaper articles from 1987 to the present.

Reference Article Databases

Below is a list of reference databases that may contain background information related to your ENGL 1301 research assignment. This is not a full list of all of the databases that ACC subscribes to and these are not the only databases that may contain information in support of your assignment. You may see the full list of ACC databases here.

American History
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Credo Reference
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Includes over 25,000 articles covering an array of topics.
Gale eBooks
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Gale In Context: Biography
More than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Find people based on occupation, role, historical period, name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
Oxford Reference

Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.

ENGL 1301: Spaventa Spring '24: Exploring American Identities Research Essay Assignment - Library Resources

ACC Library Resources

Magazine/Newspaper/Journal Article Databases

Reference Article Databases