LibGuides: ENGL 1301/INRW 0340: Ackers Fall '24: ACC Databases in Support of ENGL 1301 Research Paper Assignment

Magazine/Newspaper/Journal Article Databases

Below is a list of journal, magazine, and newspaper article databases that may contain background information related to your ENGL 1301 research assignment. This is not a full list of all of the databases that ACC subscribes to and these are not the only databases that may contain information in support of your assignment. You may see the full list of ACC databases on ACC Libraries' A-Z List of Databases page.

List of all ACC Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
The Austin American-Statesman (1871-1980) This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1871 - 1980
Austin American-Statesman (1989 - present) This link opens in a new window
The current edition of the Austin American-Statesman from NewsBank is typically posted around 5 AM CST and includes full color/full page web and print editions.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and daily life.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Reports from 1991 - present.
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
Spanish and English-language articles from scholarly journals published in Latin America, Portugal and Spain on all major subject areas. (Artículos en español y en idioma Inglés de revistas científicas publicadas en América Latina , Portugal y España en todas las principales áreas temáticas. )
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General-interest periodical resource with millions of articles from magazines and journals.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary documents about world history.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
U.S. federal & state case law, as well as multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, and ethics.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from popular magazines, plus some reference sources. Most articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile).
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on most topics including business, health, education, science, and social issues.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
The America’s News Collection includes over 3,500 news sources and newspapers, including 190 titles specific to Texas including the Austin American-Statesman, Houston Chronicle, Fort Worth Star Telegram, and San Antonio Express-News.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles from hundreds of domestic and international newspapers and news magazines.
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website.
First time users register using your ACC email at Access NYTime URL: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles on topics in psychiatry, psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, epistemology, and the history of philosophy.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Information on hot topics from newspapers, periodicals, and government sources.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from 1987 to the present.

Reference Article Databases

Below is a list of reference databases that may contain background information related to your ENGL 1301 research assignment. This is not a full list of all of the databases that ACC subscribes to and these are not the only databases that may contain information in support of your assignment. You may see the full list of ACC databases on ACC Libraries' A-Z List of Databases page.

American History This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Includes CQ Almanac, Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents Series, and Politics in America.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes over 25,000 articles covering an array of topics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Find people based on occupation, role, historical period, name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary documents about world history.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
The OED is considered by many to be the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.
ProQuest African American Heritage This link opens in a new window
Devoted exclusively to African American family history research, this collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
Base de datos en español de texto completo que cubre una amplia gama de temas de una variedad de fuentes, incluyendo libros de referencia, revistas de interés general e informes de salud.
Full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.