Education
University of North Texas at Denton
Master of Science in Library Science: Collection Development, Collection Management, Cataloging, Technical Services, Information Sources and services for Youth and Young Adults, Special Libraries, Digital Collections, Library Management, Multicultural Librarianship
University of Texas at Austin
Master of Education in Educational Psychology: Group Counseling, Child and Adolescent Social Development, Counseling Theory and Procedures, Ethics & Psychotherapy, Organization and Administration of Higher Education, Psychoeducational Assessment and Evaluation, Family Psychology, Psychology of Human Learning, Child Psychopathology, Graduate Social Research Methods
University of Texas at Austin
Bachelor of Science in Applied Learning and Development: Socio-cultural Influences on Learning, Applied Human Learning, English, Early Childhood Development
Professional Experience:
Head Librarian
Austin Community College - Rio Grande Campus
6/2024 - Present
Manage the campus library's staff, operations, budget, facility, and resources. Provide reference services
and information literacy instruction to students and faculty.
Reference Services: Provide basic reference services, online services, and selective information dissemination to students, faculty, staff and the community.
Collection Development: Participate in the development of the library’s collection
Instruction: Design curriculum and participate in the delivery of the library’s instructional program
Budget Planning: Oversee the campus library’s budget
Committee Participation: Serve on and participate in library services and college-wide committees and meetings. Participate in the formulation of policies, goals, and procedures
Integration: Integrate relevant library services activities with the college’s instructional departments
Library Branch Manager/Senior Librarian
Collin College – Farmersville Campus
7/2022 - 6/2024
Manager responsible for the overall administration of a branch library including planning and oversight of the library's operations, budget, staff, facility, and outreach.
Supervised Staff: Hired and trained team members, approved payroll, created library reference and
circulation desk schedules, assigned projects and responsibilities, handled conflicts, managed
evaluations, created and lead department meetings.
Instruction: Scheduled faculty instruction requests, provided group and individual instruction to patrons in
the use of the library and its resources to include remote and in-person instruction for all academic
departments, developed and implemented workshops and marketing tools, developed curriculum and
instruction procedures for library staff.
Budget and Purchasing: Managed library budget including all acquisitions, processing, organizing,
distribution, maintenance and inventory of resources, handled all administrative assistant tasks, purchased
library equipment and technology, handled all service and contract agreements, evaluated purchases for
library supplies, furniture, and computer equipment.
Collection Development: Built on-site collection for new campus to include print and digital books,
academic journals, course reserves, magazines, newspapers, DVDs, and audiobooks.
Social Media and Marketing: Managed library marketing and social media to include Facebook, X, and
Instagram. Developed and implemented library marketing and promotions.
Outreach and Programming: Served as local Rotary officer, Cultiv8 Poverty Task Force, Old Time
Farmersville, City of Princeton Fall Fest, monthly library promotions and events including community
outreach events. Collaborated with the community including elected officials, City Council, Board of
Trustees, and Chamber of Commerce members to offer special events, outreach, and promotions for all
ages.
Committee Service: Represented Farmersville Campus Library and served on college-wide Library
Management Team, Hispanic Heritage Committee, Web Services Committee, Library Marketing
Committee, Library Digital Services Committee, First Day Access Committee, and campus staff
committees. Regularly attended community Rotarian and Chamber of Commerce meetings.
Counselor
Wylie ISD
1/2022 - 7/2022
Worked with faculty and staff, students, parents and the community to plan and implement a
comprehensive counseling program.
Counseling: Provided specialized counseling and guidance in individual and group formats for intermediate
level students. Assisted faculty in the teaching of guidance-related curriculum.
Curriculum Specialist: Designed the guidance program to include a curriculum that helped students develop
their educational potential with consideration for a student’s interests and career goals.
Responsive Services: Intervened and supported any student with immediate personal concerns or
problems that could negatively impact the student’s educational, career, personal or social development.
Guidance: Consulted with parents, faculty, administrators and others to enhance their work with students
and to support the monitoring and managing of student plans to develop their own educational, career, personal, and social development aspirations.
System Support: Supported teachers, staff, parents and other community members in promoting positive working relationships between students and school professionals.
Library Media Specialist
Garland ISD
8/2017 - 1/2022
Responsible for the administration of the library including planning and oversight of the library’s space,
operations, staff, facility, and materials acquisition.
Supervise staff: Hired and trained librarians, library assistants, and student aides, assigned projects and
responsibilities, handled conflicts with students, faculty, and administrators, and implemented staff
professional development.
Instruction: Provided class, group, and individual instruction in the use of the library and its resources for all
academic departments. Developed and implemented workshops, coordinated with the English department
to offer research and writing seminars. Designed engaging learning experiences to integrate digital
citizenship and information literacy skills into instruction across all departments. Facilitated and presented
at district and state level conferences.
Budget and Purchasing: Managed the library budget, handled all administrative tasks, and purchased all
supplies, equipment, and Maker Space items. Reviewed and selected all library print and digital resources,
including periodicals and databases.
Collection Development: Responsible for building and purchasing all print and digital materials and
resources to include print and eBooks, academic journals, magazines, journals, DVDs and audiobooks.
Weeded and revised the collection weekly and inventoried bi-annually.
Social Media and Marketing: Managed all library marketing to include reading promotions, literacy events,
community events and drives, and social media posts.
District Library Coordinator
Plano ISD
7/2005-8/2017
Worked for three years as the campus counselor before moving into a librarian position, followed by a
senior librarian position, and then was promoted to a district-wide supervisory role over 36 libraries.
Supervise staff: Directed the senior librarians, librarians, and library staff at 36 libraries in Plano ISD. The
libraries served early childhood through high school and college level dual-enrolled students. Visited
library campuses weekly to oversee library operations to include collection development, instructional
practices, and collaboration among academic departments. Oversaw the marketing, promotions, and
community events planned by the campus libraries. Evaluated programming and staffing and
recommended change as needed. Developed, facilitated, and presented professional development at local
and state levels. Filled in for the library director when she was unavailable.
Collection Development: Responsible for maintaining a seven figure budget to include the ordering of a
district-level collection that comprised 72 libraries. Coordinated the purchases for resources such as
databases, digital streaming, and eBooks for all campus branches. Managed the funds for grant and bond
monies allocated to collection development.
Budget: Managed a seven figure budget that supported multiple library renovations, 72 branch collection
development purchases, and all campus-wide digital materials acquisitions.
Library Design: Managed the full library renovation and partial library renovation of three campus libraries
yearly. Met with library interior vendors, created contract agreements, purchased materials, and oversaw
the campus construction until completion.
Professional Development Workshops: Designed and implemented district-wide professional development
for library staff four times annually. Developed and implemented an annual state-wide professional
development open to all public, private, academic, and school librarians in the state of Texas. The
conference was typically attended by 500 attendees and included a full-day of free training sessions, book
and library material vendors, workshops, and a variety of collaborative events.
Committees: Served on the Digital Commons, the Texas Association of School Library
Administrators, and the Common Sense Media committees. Member of the Texas Library Association early
childhood, young adult, and college and university roundtable committees.
Reference Librarian, part-time
Collin College – Plano Campus
1/2011 – 3/2014
Held this part-time reference librarian position for three years while working simultaneously as a full-time
campus librarian in Plano ISD.
Reference: Provided library reference services when assigned to the reference desk.
Instruction: Collaborated with faculty across all departments to teach library instructions that included the
use of the library and its resources. Conducted library orientations for new students at the start of each
semester.
Collection Development: Engaged in collection development and weeding for a portion of the print and
eBook collection.
Marketing: Created library displays to market new collections and library events.
Supervisor: Managed the library staff, student assistants, and the computer and technology labs. Oversaw
all library operations and library staff when the director was unavailable. Managed all campus-wide
operations when the Dean of Student Services was not present.
Presentations:
Plano ISD district level presentations:
New Librarian Academy:
Getting Started: Philosophy of Service, Policies and Procedures
Budget and Acquisitions: Accounting and Ordering
Digital Library: Premium Resources, Outreach
Instruction: Accessing Curriculum, Partnering with Faculty
Personnel: Librarian evaluations, Reflection with Mentors
Collection Management: Inventory, Weeding
Integration of Library Technology in the Science Curriculum
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Collection Development
GISD district level presentations:
LitCon
English Language Learners: Every Child a Super Reader
Library Trends and Issues
Digital Learning: Add-ons using Google Tools
TikTok Book Talks
Social Media: Social and Ethical Responsibilities for Educators
Texas Library Association Annual Conference:
Essential ESL Strategies for the School Librarian (2013)
Self Care for Librarians: A Necessity not an Indulgence (2022)
Committees
Taskforces & Library Committees Collin College
Library Leadership Committee
Library Instruction Committee
Library Web Development Committee
Library Taskforce for Open Education Resources
First Day Access – Digital Textbooks
Hispanic Heritage Committee
Community Engagement Collin College
Rotary Officer
Princeton and Farmersville Chamber of Commerce
Wreaths across America
Cultiv8 Poverty Task Force 2023