Drug Information: General Web Sites

ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts). It provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

Information about prescription and over-the-counter medications, as well as herb, vitamin and other supplement information from Natural Standard. It may be searched by either brand name or generic name. (Suggestion: Use alphabetic links for searching for

Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.

The database Drugs and Lactation, or LactMed, responds to the increased prevalence of breastfeeding worldwide. Drugs in breast milk pose a potential risk to the breast-fed infant, and LactMed provides healthcare practitioners and nursing mothers with data and information on drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, and the effects of those agents on nursing infants and on lactation. LactMed contains about 1,000 records on drugs, herbals and dietary supplements that also include a summary regarding use of the specified substance during lactation, potential alternative medications, and references that are linked to their respective PubMed records. LactMed is endorsed by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

The LiverTox database provides researchers, physicians, and patients with up-to-date and comprehensive information about drug induced liver injury. It contains drug records with concise data on medications, herbals, and dietary supplements that can affect the liver. LiverTox also includes a case registry that allows users to submit relevant clinical cases to LiverTox and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction. This charge has two critical components. The first is the strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines. The second is ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

The Drug Information Portal at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov is a free web resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides an informative, user-friendly portal to current drug information for over 15,000 drugs. Links to sources span the breadth of NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies. Current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS-related drug information, MeSH® pharmacological actions, PubMed® biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure is easily retrieved by searching on a drug name. A varied selection of focused topics in medicine and drug-related information is also available from displayed subject headings.

Consumer version of Natural Medicines provides information on herbal remedies, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, and other natural products and tools to help evaluate such as interaction and nutrient depletion checkers.

Provides information on prescription drugs and over the counter drugs as well as herbals and other supplements. Designed for a general audience by The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services - it provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information: the PDR®, the most recognized drug information reference available in the U.S.; interactive drug information services for EHR/EMR systems; digital communication services; PDR.net®; and mobilePDR®.

This database allows you to search for information about medicines in development by disease, indication or drug name. PhRMA membership represents approximately 100 U.S. companies that have a primary commitment to pharmaceutical research.

RxList Database consists of products currently on the US market or close to approval. It may be searched by either brand name or generic name and can be searched simultaneously for potential drug interactions, side effects and indications.

RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, MediSpan, Gold Standard Alchemy, and Multum. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary. RxNorm files are available through the NLM download server.

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists searchable database is based on ASHP’s Medication Teaching Manual: The Guide to Patient Drug Information.

Dietary supplements are vitamins, minerals, herbs, and many other products. They can come as pills, capsules, powders, drinks, and energy bars. Supplements do not have to go through the testing that drugs do.

-a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

This collection of fact sheets and other resources from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and other federal government sources presents information about dietary supplements and their ingredients. These include vitamins, minerals, herbs and botanicals, probiotics, and more. Many of these resources are available in versions written for consumers (in both English and Spanish) and also for health professionals.

The database links you to the information from the labels of over 30,000 dietary supplement products in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements. It includes name, form, active and inactive ingredients, amount of active ingredient, manufacturer/distributor information, label claims, warnings, percentage of daily value, and additional label information. This database can be searched by product names, text terms found on product labels, specific dietary ingredients, and manufacturers.

Find general resources on vitamins and minerals below. Use these links for specifics on a particular vitamin or mineral

FDA regulates both finished dietary supplement products and dietary ingredients. FDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products.

Basic information on using dietary supplements wisely, including safety, regulations, research, and resources to learn more.

The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) fact sheets give a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements. Free Mobile App from ODS
MyDS helps you keep track of vitamins, minerals, herbs, and other products.