LibGuides: Drama: Journal Articles &amp; Streaming Videos

Drama & Theater Arts Journals

To search for more Drama & Theater Journals click here.

Drama Databases

Here, I list the most useful databases for research on Drama/Theater Arts.

Academic Search Complete
Drama Online
Offering written plays, video, acting classes, scholarly critical books, and audio plays, Drama Online supports English Shakespeare curriculum, drama practitioner curriculum, and more.
Fairchild Books Library
Films on Demand
Educational streaming videos for most subject areas.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Contains up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
JSTOR

Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Kanopy

More than 26,000 streaming videos, including films from the Criterion Collection, festival circuit documentaries, and TV series. Kanopy (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.
Literary Reference Source

Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
On The Boards TV

Full-length, high-quality contemporary performance films by over 30 different artists. Performances are filmed at the On the Boards theater in Portland, in Austin, and in New York.
Play Index

Covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
The New York Times

All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website.
First time users register using your ACC email at Access NYTime URL: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/

Feature Resource - Drama Online

Asian Theater

From Butoh to Bollywood, Bunraku to Topeng, this collection is a vital repository for students and academics interested in Asia’s rich theatrical traditions.

Core Collection

The collection as a whole includes over 2,000 playtexts, with titles from Bloomsbury’s imprints, Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare, as well as Faber and Faber.

Critical Studies

This collection features nearly 500 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints

TCG

TCG Books’ backlist consists of diverse voices in contemporary American theatre, including 18 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The collection is exclusive to Drama Online.