LibGuides: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases: Dictionaries

Dictionaries

General and Specialized

Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online - Picture Dictionary
Merriam-Webster Online - Dictionary and thesaurus. Also has Spanish - English and medical dictionaries.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language - The 5th edition of this excellent dictionary.
Collins English Dictionary - Also has a thesaurus, translator, and section for those learning English.
Cambridge Dictionary Online - Basic dictionary for people learning English.
Wordnik - One-stop shopping. Has definitions, synonyms, pronunciations, usage, images illustrating the word, and more.
Oxford Picture Dictionary - A large collection available via YouTube
Oxford Reference - A large collection of general and subject-specific dictionaries. Restricted to ACC students.
Medical Terminology, Dictionaries and ICD - links to several web resources relating to health care and disease.
SpellCheck.net - A spellchecker plus a handy array of math and language links. Use KitchenMath to convert pints to cups or try Babel Fish to translate Spanish to English.

spacer

Oxford Reference Online - Modern Languages - available only to ACC students and staff. Bilingual dictionaries for Spanish, French, German, Italian, and more.
Google Translate - translates words or phrases both to and from English, French, Spanish, German, Italian, and Portuguese. This site will also translate entire web pages if you enter the URL.
Yourdictionary.com Language Dictionaries - links to over 250 online non-English dictionaries.

ARTFL Project: French to English, English to French
Collins French Dictionary - English to French, French to English. Can pronounce words

Dictionary of Spanish - Spanish to English, English to Spanish
Collins Spanish Dictionary - English to Spanish, Spanish to English. Can pronounce words

Collins German Dictionary - English to German, German to English. Can pronounce words
Pons Online Dictionary - This online dictionary comes very close to providing the lexical and semantic information in a paper dictionary.

Ultimate Visual Dictionary by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: PE1629 .U49 2011 ebk
ISBN: 0756686830
Publication Date: 2011
NTC's Super-Mini English Dictionary by Richard A. Spears
Call Number: PE1628 .N676 2002 ebk
ISBN: 007138748X
Publication Date: 2002
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by David A. Bender
Call Number: TX349 .B4115 2014 ebk
ISBN: 0199234876
Publication Date: 2014
Canadian Oxford Dictionary by Katherine Barber (Editor)
Call Number: PE3235 .C36 2005 ebk
ISBN: 0195418166
Publication Date: 2005
Concise Medical Dictionary by Elizabeth A. Martin (Editor)
Call Number: W 13 C744 2015 ebk
ISBN: 0199557144
Publication Date: 2015
Fowler's Concise Dictionary of Modern English Usage by Jeremy Butterfield (Editor)
Call Number: PE1464 .P63 2015 ebk
ISBN: 0199666318
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Dictionary of English by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
Call Number: PE1628 .O8675 2010 ebk
ISBN: 0199571120
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Freely available online:

ACC Library Services Databases with online Dictionaries:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
The OED is considered by many to be the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.