Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magazine / Newspaper / Journal Article Databases
ACC Libraries have more than 90 journal/magazine article databases. The ones listed are the most useful for land surveying and geomatics.
(See a complete list of ACC Library Databases by Subject or by Title)
Options for Getting Articles Found on the Web
Scenario: you find the citation of an article on the Web, but the full text is not available or you would have to pay a fee to get a copy of the article.
Before paying for an article on a publisher's website, consider these options:
- Ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money.
- Use the E-Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that published the article to find out if ACC library databases provide the full text.
- Search Catalogs at Other Libraries to see if a local library subscribes to the journal or magazine that published the article you want. If you find the periodical in an Austin-area library, you can usually go there and make a photocopy of the article.
- Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL service generally takes from two to eight weeks. This service takes more time because the article must be requested and then sent from a library that owns it. That library could be in another state.
Use our Finding Periodical Articles Library Guide or view a short, interactive tutorial, "Finding Articles," for more information..
The resources listed in the box on the left are good tools to use to start your search for magazine and journal articles related to programming and other computer-related topics.
Magazines and Journals
The American Surveyor
Published 10 times a year: Jan/Feb, March, April, May, June, July and/or August, September, October, November and/or December and free to qualified subscribers.
Point of Beginning
A trade magazine providing information and products for the land surveying and mapping professional, the site provides a searchable archive, information about new products and a POB Online Buyers Guide, a calendar of events, and industry links. It is also available in the Business Source Complete
database from 1995 to present.
This magazine is no longer being published, but all the articles since 1996 are available online. For new content starting July 2014, see the new magazine, xyHt
"xyHt is an evolving resource for professionals in the fields of positioning and measurement. xyHt comes in the form of a monthly print magazine as well as exclusive online content." Surveying is one of several topics covered by this publication.
American Surveyor News RSS Feed