LibGuides: Geospatial Engineering: Welcome!

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Faculty, Head Librarian / Assistant Professor
Rio Grande Campus
1212 Rio Grande St.
Room 1001
Austin, TX 78701
gregory.dawson@austincc.edu

512-223-3066

Land Surveying/Geometrics Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

GPS Fields Area Measure App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
GPS Fields Area Measure-Manage your area, distance, perimeter. (Android)

Surveyor Plus App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Surveyor Plus-Allows you to create, save and export projects based on the calculation and management of the coordinates of points. (Android)

ArcGIS App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
ArcGIS-Tap on the map or use your current location and discover information about what you see. You can query the map, search and find interesting information, measure distances and areas of interest and share maps with others. (Android)

AutoCAD 360 App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
AutoCAD 360-A free DWG viewing application, with drawing and drafting tools that allow you to view, create, edit, and share AutoCAD drawings across web and mobile devices. (Android)

Map Check App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Map Check-Enter data from a map, plat, or legal description of a lot or parcel, and produce a plot on the screen and compute the area enclosed. This is used by Land Surveyors, landowners, title companies, and others to determine if the area of the lot matches what the records say. (Android)

Welcome!

Welcome to the Geospatial Engineering Subject Guide. This guide is intended to help you find books, locate magazine and journal articles, search databases, and find web resources with useful content.

The tabs across the top of the page will help you navigate between topics. Tabs with an arrow have sub-pages.

Presidents Washington, Jefferson, and Lincoln were surveyors. (This image is from Brittannica ImageQuest: James Steinberg / Photo Researchers / Universal Images Group. Rights Managed / For Education Use Only)

Careers

General Career LibGuide Websites to help with job searching, resume building, interview skills, and more!
ACC Career Exploration Web Page ACC Career Exploration Webpage -- includes links to helpful career exploration websites!

LearningExpress Library Plus This link opens in a new window
This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing.Tutorials and e-books to help with job preparation, career advancement, and college readiness, as well as practice tests for the TOEFL, MCAT, ACT, GMAT, LSAT, GRE, and AP tests. Also includes Computer Skills, Job & Career Accelerator, and Adult Learning centers..

O*NET Online The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation. Information from this database forms the heart of O*NET OnLine, an interactive application for exploring and searching occupations.
more...less...
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) is being developed under the sponsorship of the US Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration (USDOL/ETA) through a grant to the North Carolina Department of Commerce.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Describes hundreds of careers, including required training, future salaries, and future demand.
more...less...
Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics.

O-Net OnLine Summary Report for Surveyors:

https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/17-1022.00

Summary of Career Info for Surveyors from the Occupational Outlook Handbook:

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/architecture-and-engineering/surveyors.htm#TB_inline?height=325&width=325&inlineId=qf-wage

What Surveyors Do

Surveyors make precise measurements to determine property boundaries. They provide data relevant to the shape and contour of the Earth’s surface for engineering, mapmaking, and construction projects.

Work Environment

Surveying involves both fieldwork and indoor work. When working outside, surveyors may stand for long periods and often walk long distances, sometimes in bad weather. Most work full time.

How to Become a Surveyor

Surveyors typically need a bachelor’s degree. They must be licensed before they can certify legal documents and provide surveying services to the public.

Pay

Job Outlook

State & Area Data

Explore resources for employment and wages by state and area for surveyors.

Similar Occupations

Compare the job duties, education, job growth, and pay of surveyors with similar occupations.

More Information, Including Links to O*NET

Learn more about surveyors by visiting additional resources, including O*NET, a source on key characteristics of workers and occupations.

Have a Quick Question?

Explore beyond your textbooks!

ACC Libraries offer handbooks, manuals, dictionaries, encyclopedias and books--in print and online--to help you answer questions that may arise from class discussions or from your reading assignments.

Click on the Dictionaries & Encyclopedias tab at the top to get started.

Geospatial Engineering: Welcome!