Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These library databases and public web sites cover the overall field. Many of these are collections of links to other, more specific sites.
(If you need articles on these topics, use the "Finding Biology Articles" tab, above)
ACC Library Database Resources:
Gale eBooks (Science)
Search a collection of over 90 specialized science encyclopedias, including many on Biology. If you're off campus, use your ACCeID to access.
Encyclopedia of Life
An online encyclopedia of life sciences being built by reputable sources from around the world. Fun to browse. For specific topics, use the search box.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Biology Education Network (BEN)
Huge collection of resources for students and teachers of biology. Search for a specific topic or browse to see what's available. You can also see the material arranged by scholarly level, from elementary to graduate.
Encyclopedia of the Earth: Biology
Brief introductory encyclopedia entries on a wide variety of biology topics. Browse or search for specific topics.
A series of online presentations on current Biology topics, such as biomechanics, neuroscience, cell biology.
Overview of the many areas that Biology covers, such as cellular biology, microbiology, etc. Good site to gain general information. There is also a section on careers and an extensive glossary of bioscience terms.
Science @ a Distance: e-Learning Modules
Several modules on biology topics, mainly on cellular biology and genetics. From a professor at City University of New York.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Biology
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology is one of the premier science universities. They make all of their courses available on the web. There are over 3 dozen biology courses listed.
Khan Academy - Biology lessons
Free lectures and lessons on major Biology topics (and all academic areas). A nonprofit effort to provide free education to all.
Animated Tutorials: General Biology
Visual tutorials on many basic areas of Biology, such as mitosis, evolution, DNA, etc.
Collections of many sources on major issues in biology, such as biodiversity, evolution, genetics, etc. Good place to start a research project. The "Topic Directory" in the left margin is a good starting point. From the American Institute of Biological Sciences.
Lots of information on marine biology, including animals, environmental issues, biodiversity, etc. From a nonprofit conservation society.
Interactive techniques, labs, online lessons in genetics, cell biology, evolution, human health, plants, neuroscience, and ecology.
PHET Interactive Simulations
Biology related simulations, questions, activities.
Virtual laboratories and interactive media that covers a variety of Biology topics.
Virtual Scanning Electron Microscope
Interactive microscope with different samples and ability to change focus, contrast, brightness and magnification (curriculum on microscopy available + interactive tutorials)
Biology related lessons and activities produced and developed by Michigan State University. You can sort nuggets by content level (Level 4 is college level).
Ask A Biologist
Ask A Biologist began in 1997 in the School of Life Sciences as a biology learning resource tool for students.