Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Careers for Criminal Justice Majors
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. Has short descriptions of hundreds of careers, giving required training, likely salary, growth potential, and more.
Texas Commision on Law Enforcement
The Career and Employment page of the TCOLE site contains requirements and standards information and links to helpful resources.
Online Criminal Justice Degree Information & Subject Resources
Contains a lengthy, annotated list of online criminal justice degree programs from associate through graduate degrees. Also provides a wide range of career guidance and supporting information.
National Association of Police Organizations
NAPO's site includes links to job vacancies and links to information on how to become a police officer.
This site includes information on starting your career in law enforcement, links to professional organizations throughout the country, as well as police officer requirements for each state.
Career Information Research Guide
More career information and state and local job listings sites. Created by an ACC librarian.
Some Streaming Media Titles
Be sure to search for new titles.
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major by
Call Number: HV9950 .M54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Careers in Focus
Careers in Focus: Forensics examines 20 careers for anyone interested in crime solving. Job profiles include: Computer forensics specialists; Crime scene investigators; Criminalists; Fingerprint analysts; Fire investigators; Forensic accountants and auditors; Forensic anthropologists; Forensic botanists; Forensic odontologists; Forensic science educators; Forensic science laboratory managers; Forensic toxicologists; Questioned document examiners; and more.
Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security and Protective Services by
Call Number: HV8143 .E34 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The growing law enforcement and security industry remains highly attractive to new workers. Current concerns about security and terrorism have placed law enforcement agencies and protective services in the spotlight and led to sweeping changes in some branches. This extensively revised edition of one of the most successful titles in the Career Opportunities series contains 77 thoroughly updated job profiles and seven new profiles. Providing clear, accessible information on a wide range of opportunities, this book is essential for anyone planning a career in this field.
Federal Law Enforcement Careers by
Call Number: HV8143 .A64 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
This book provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date information about federal law enforcement jobs, in a manner that is simple and easy for readers to understand and use. It is the ultimate resource for anyone who is serious about landing a law-enforcement career in the federal system.
Great Jobs for Criminal Justice Majors by
Call Number: HV8143 .L335 2001 EBK
Publication Date: 2001-04-02
Great Jobs for Criminal Justice Majors helps students explore career options within their field of study. Every aspect of the job-search process is covered, including assessing talents and skills, exploring options, making a smooth transition from college to career, conducting an effective job search, and landing the job. The book is filled with a variety of career choices.
Career Search Terms
Search the library catalog using terms such as "careers criminal justice" or "vocational guidance criminal justice". You can also search for call number HV7921.
General Career Inormation
A site from the U.S. Department of Labor. Gives standardized descriptions of hundreds of jobs. You can search it by the name of a specific job or by general work areas or by skills.
Career Readiness Handbook
From the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board: "This handbook is designed to help students develop a career path and consider their future employment possibilities as they move through postsecondary education. Topics include the type of careers that exist and the skills needed for them, the steps you should take to find a satisfying career, and how students can leverage curricular and co-curricular activities into marketable skills."
Texas Internship Challenge
The Texas Internship Challenge is a joint partnership among the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, TWC and TEA, to encourage business and industry partners across the state to offer paid internships.
Huge amounts of information--specific jobs, information on resumes and job searching, educational opportunities, worker and employer legal rights and regulations, links to many other related web sites. Funded by the U.S. government.
This search engine covers many web sites with job listings. The Advanced Search lets you specify part time jobs or internships, among other features. You can sign up so new listings that match your criteria are e-mailed to you.
With our world-class resume and cover letter builders, professional writing services, interview tips, millions of job listings, and a convenient mobile app, LiveCareer is here for your job search and career management every step of the way.
National Opportunity NOCs: Nonprofit Organization Classifieds
A nationwide listing of jobs in nonprofit organizations. Also, the Career Center and Nonprofit Library have excellent lists of links to related web sites
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Highly recommended as a place to begin searching. Published by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. Has short descriptions of hundreds of careers, giving required training, likely salary, growth potential, and more.
What Color Is Your Parachute? (Job Hunters Bible)
A supplement to the popular annual book (available in the ACC libraries). Help on job searching and resumes and links to other career web sites.