LibGuides: Building Construction Technology: Finding Articles

Unsure how to find articles?

Learn how to easily find articles at any library with this tutorial:

Print magazines at the Riverside Library to support Building Construction and Woodworking include:

Architectural Digest	Home Energy
Custom Home	Journal of Light Construction
Environmental Building News	Woodsmith
Fine Homebuilding	Woodworker's Journal
Fine Woodworking	Workbench

These are websites for online BCT magazines Print copies of some are also available in the library.

Academic Search Complete
Useful for almost any topic. Over 5000 periodicals with the full-text of the articles are included. This will have a mix of journals and magazines.

There are two main types of periodical articles: journals (advanced, scholarly) and magazines (less technical).

ACC gets the great majority of its periodicals through online collections, such as those below. Or, check out the complete list of ACC E-Resources for Articles and Reference by title or by subject.

Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, reports from associations and more.

Business Source Complete
Here you will find full-text articles on the business side of building construction.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Useful for environmental issues such as green housing. Some full-text articles are included.
Article citations for topics such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution.
Home Improvement Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides users with user-friendly “how-to” information covering a range of home improvement and repair projects and features full-text content from leading magazines, images not found anywhere else online, and videos of popular home repair projects.

Masterfile Premier
This database contains full text for periodicals covering various subject areas as well as many professions/trade publications. You'll also find full text for nearly 500 reference books, and an Image Collection.
Science & Technology Collection
This database contains full text for periodicals covering various subject areas as well as many professions/trade publications. You'll also find full text for nearly 500 reference books, and an Image Collection.

Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans.