Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Glossary of Library Terms: English Glossary of Library Terms

Bilingual Glossary of library terms with definitions. For Librarians helping Spanish speakers or for Spanish speakers learning English. Glosario bilingüe de términos bibliográficos con definiciones.

English Glossary of Library Terms

English Library TermDefinitionSpanish Library Term

Abstract                                                

Summary of a book or article- tells you what it is about

Resumen de un libro o artículo- te dice de qué se trata 

Abstracto           

Almanac

An annual calendar containing important dates and statistical information

Un calendario anual que contiene las fechas importantes y la información estadística

Almanaque
Article

A work published in a magazine, journal, or newspaper

Un trabajo publicado en una revista, diario o periódico

Artículo
Bibliographic or Catalog Record

Entry in the catalog of a library that  tells you information such as author, title, date of publication, subject, location, call number

La inscripción en el catálogo de una biblioteca que te dice que información como autor, título, fecha de publicación, ubicación, número de llamada sujetos

Archivo bibliográfico
Bibliography

A list of sources used in a particular work

Una lista de las fuentes utilizadas en un trabajo en particular

Bibliografía
Biography

Work about the life of a person

Trabajar sobre la vida de una persona

Biografía
Book Stacks

A section of book shelves

Una sección de los estantes de libros

Estantería
Call Number

Series of letters and/or numbers assigned to a book used to locate an item in the stacks

Serie de letras y / o números asignados a un libro utiliza para localizar un elemento en las pilas

Numero de clasificación
Check-out

How to borrow a book from the library - check out a book at the Circulation Desk your current ACC student ID card

Cómo pedir prestado un libro de la biblioteca - echa un vistazo a un libro en el escritorio de circulación su tarjeta actual de identificación de estudiante ACC

Préstamo
Circulation Desk

Checkout Desk at the library where you checkout, return books and pay fines for overdue materials.

Pedido turística en la biblioteca , donde usted comprobación , devolver los libros y pagar multas por materiales atrasados ​​.

Escritorio de Circulación
Citation

Data describing a source used to produce a work or write a book. There are many citation styles - go to: Citing Sources to learn more.

Los datos que describe una fuente utilizado para producir una obra o escribir un libro. Hay muchos estilos de citas - ir a : Citando fuentes para aprender más.

Ficha bibliográfica
Database

Electronic catalog records that can be searched and manipulated through an interface. The ACC Libraries have around 100 databases with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and in some cases reference materials and e-books. To access our databases go to: http://alicat.austincc.edu/screens/srchhelp_y.html 

Registros del catálogo electrónicos que se pueden buscar y manipulados a través de una interfaz . Las Bibliotecas de ACC tienen alrededor de 100 bases de datos con artículos de revistas, revistas , periódicos, y en algunos casos materiales de referencia y libros electrónicos . Para tener acceso a nuestras bases de datos visite: http://alicat.austincc.edu/screens/srchhelp_y.html

Base de Datos
Dewey Decimal System

System of classification used by public libraries to organize books and other library materials

Sistema de clasificación utilizado por las bibliotecas públicas para organizar los libros y otros materiales de la biblioteca

Sistema decimal Dewey
Dictionary Book that contains the definition and pronunciation of the words in a language, or that translates words from one language to another. Often it offers the conjugation of the most commonly used verbs. Diccionario
Due-date

Return library materials on or before this date to avoid late fines.

Materiales de la biblioteca de retorno en o antes de esa fecha para evitar finales de las multas.

Fecha límite
Encyclopedia

Work of one or more volumes that contains background information on a certain topic

El trabajo de uno o más volúmenes que contiene información básica sobre un tema determinado

Enciclopedia
Government Document

Publication sponsored and published by the government of a country, state, or city

Publicación patrocinado y publicado por el gobierno de un país, estado o ciudad.

Documento del  gobierno
Index

1- List of works on a given topic used to find research material OR 2- An alphabetical list found at the end of a book, containing keywords and their pages in a book.

1- Lista de obras sobre un tema determinado utiliza para encontrar material de investigación O 2- Una lista alfabética se encuentra al final de un libro, que contienen palabras clave y sus páginas de un libro.

Indice
Journal

Publication that contains articles written by experts on the subject, published periodically or as a part of a series. Use the Library Databases to search for articles.

Publicación que contiene artículos escritos por expertos en el tema , publicado periódicamente o como parte de una serie . Utilice las bases de datos de biblioteca para buscar artículos .

Revista profesional ó académica
Keyword

Term used to search a library catalog, database, or online

Término utilizado para buscar un catálogo de la biblioteca , base de datos, o en línea

Palabra Clave
Library Catalog

Comprehensive ist of all the materials contained in a library. To search the ACC Library Catalog go to: http://alicat.austincc.edu/ 

Ist integral de todos los materiales contenidos en una biblioteca. Para buscar en el Catálogo ACC Biblioteca visite: http://alicat.austincc.edu/

Catálogo de la biblioteca
Library of Congress System (LC)

System used by academic libraries to organize books and other library materials. To learn more see: http://researchguides.austincc.edu/classif 

Sistema utilizado por las bibliotecas universitarias para organizar los libros y otros materiales de la biblioteca . Para obtener más información , visite: http://researchguides.austincc.edu/classif

Sistema de la Biblioteca del Congreso
Magazine

Entertainment or consumer directed publication that contains articles written by its staff (not by experts) for the general public

Entretenimiento o publicación dirigida al consumidor que contiene artículos escritos por su personal (no por expertos ) para el público en general .

Revista popular
Monograph

Book with only one volume, about a single subject.

Libro con un solo volumen , alrededor de un solo tema .

Monografía
Newspaper

A local publication typically issued daily or weekly, containing news, articles, and advertisements. To see a list of ACC Databases containing electronic newspaper articles go to: http://alicat.austincc.edu/search/v?News+and+Newspapers 

Una publicación local normalmente emitió diaria o semanal , que contiene noticias , artículos y anuncios. Para ver una lista de las bases de datos que contiene ACC artículos de periódicos electrónicos visite: http://alicat.austincc.edu/search/v?News+and+Newspapers

Periódico o Diario
PDF (Portable Document Format)

Digital document identical to the original.

Documento digital idéntico al original

PDF
Peer Reviewed or Refereed

Journals that publish material previously evaluated by a panel of experts or scholars.

Las revistas que publican materiales evaluados previamente por un panel de expertos o académicos .

Aprobado por expertos
Periodical or Serial

A work published periodically, such as once a month. Newspapers, magazines, journals, and gazettes are examples.

Un trabajo publicado periódicamente , como una vez al mes . Periódicos , revistas , diarios y boletines son ejemplos.

Publicación seriada
Plagiarism

Unethical act of using the ideas of another person and presenting them as your own without giving credit to the original author. Plagiarism is considered academic misconduct and can be grounds for expulsion in higher education institutions. For more information about plagiarism go to the Academic Honesty tutorial.

Acto no ético de utilizar las ideas de otra persona y presentarlos como propios sin dar crédito al autor original . El plagio se considera mala conducta académica y puede ser motivo de expulsión en las instituciones de educación superior. Para obtener más información sobre el plagio ir al tutorial de Honestidad Académica .

Plagio
Quote or Quotation

Excerpt copied from a source. Quotation marks must be used and credit must be given to the original author.

Extracto copiado de una fuente . Las comillas se deben utilizar y el crédito se debe dar al autor original .

Cita
Reference Desk

Where to get help from a reference libraria, who answers questions about research and helps patrons find information.

Dónde obtener ayuda de un Libraria referencia , que responde a preguntas sobre la investigación y la ayuda a los clientes a encontrar información .

Escritorio de Referencia
Reference Sources

Works that contain background information about one or many topics (definitions, basic overviews, quick facts, etc.). Examples include Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, bibliographies and indexes.

Obras que contienen información general sobre uno o varios temas (definiciones , descripciones básicas , hechos rápidos , etc.). Los ejemplos incluyen enciclopedias , diccionarios, almanaques , bibliografías e índices.

Material de consulta
Reserve

Materials set aside (usually by an instructor) for the use of a special group of patrons, found at the Circulation Desk.  

Materiales destinados (por lo general por un instructor ) para el uso de un grupo especial de los clientes , que se encuentra en el escritorio de circulación .

Reserva
Review

Brief article that gives an opinion about the quality of a book or product.

Breve artículo que da una opinión sobre la calidad de un libro o producto.

 Reseña
Thesaurus

Dictionary that finds synonyms or antonyms to words  

Diccionario que encuentra sinónimos o antónimos a las palabras

Diccionario de sinónimos
URL

Address of a webpage. For example: the URL for ACC Library Services is http://library.austincc.edu/ 

Dirección de una página web . Por ejemplo : la dirección URL de ACC Library Services es http://library.austincc.edu/

Dirección de internet

Website

A set of interconnected webpages, usually including a homepage, generally located on the same server, and prepared and maintained as a collection of information by a person, group, or organization.  

Un conjunto de páginas web interconectadas, por lo general , incluyendo una página de inicio , por lo general se encuentra en el mismo servidor, y preparado y mantenido como una colección de información por una persona, grupo u organización .

Sitio virtual

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College