• The Weeding Handbook by Rebecca Vnuk

  ISBN: 9780838937174

  Publication Date: 2022-05-11

  Filled with field-tested strategies and adaptable collection development policies, this updated handbook will enable libraries to bloom by maintaining a collection that users actually use.
• Reference Shelf: Book Bans and Censorship by HW Wilson

  ISBN: 9781637008973

  Publication Date: 2024-08-30

  Is there such a thing as forbidden knowledge? Are some ideas too dangerous for members of a society to handle? This is the idea behind book banning and censorship, methods meant to create a degree of social control by restricting access to ideas or art or other kinds of expression. Recently, American conservatives have been engaging in this activity again in an effort to limit access to information about race relations, gender politics, and sexuality. Drawing from recent journalism and political writing, this volume of The Reference Shelf looks at the political debate and the social movements behind this resurgence in authoritarianism. -- Publisher
• Twenty-First-Century Access Services by Trevor A. Dawes (Editor); Michael J. Krasulski (Editor)

  ISBN: 9780838939314

  Publication Date: 2023-03-30

  This thoroughly revised edition of 2013's seminal Twenty-First-Century Access Services highlights the expanded duties of these departments; the roles these services continue to play in the success of the library, students, and faculty; and the knowledge, skills, and abilities these library workers need. In four parts it explores: facilitating access, leading access services, assessing access services, and developing access services professionals.
• A librarian's toolbox by The Chronicle of Higher Ed

  Call Number: Z675 .U5 L53 2024

  Publication Date: 2024

  This collection of articles and opinion essays from The Chronicle offers essential insights about the key trends, innovations, and debates that are shaping the future of the campus library.

• ResearchRabbit ResearchRabbit is a “free forever” innovative, citation-based literature mapping tool that’s designed to support your research without switching between search modes and databases. But it’s ResearchRabbit’s ability to automate “citation mining,” highlighting relationships and trends, and quickly lead you to relevant research (which might not be immediately obvious) that makes it a true game changer. ResearchRabbit provides a visual map of the literature that reveals the structure of research networks and allows researchers to see how papers are connected. Closely-related papers cluster together, allowing you to easily identify papers central to the discussion. The visual format also allows researchers to spot trends, dominant theories, and gaps where little research has been conducted. With ResearchRabbit, you can interact with these filters by selecting specific journals and tracking where they’ve been cited. Or you can filter by criteria (i.e., publication date, number of citations, keywords) and zoom in- or out- to understand the research connection or to limit your scope.
• Elicit When you initiate a search, Elicit pulls up the four most relevant articles and generates a mini literature review that shows how these four studies are related. The app then creates a table of all four articles that includes the citation information and a one-sentence abstract summary. You can create columns that allow you to search for over 30 types of specific data, such as limitations, measured outcomes, intervention effects, methodology, research gaps, funding sources, software used, sample sizes, and more. This ability is particularly useful for meta-analyses and systemic reviews and saves countless hours for researchers who are interested in specifics within a research study. After reviewing the four papers Elicit suggested, you can keep selecting “Load more” until you run out of time or energy. Elicit organizes its search by relevance, so having a strong research question for the initial inquiry is critical for building a collection of papers.
• Consensus Consensus is an AI-powered search engine that combs through over 200 million academic research articles, papers, and books in every academic discipline. Powered by Copilot and their “Consensus Meter,” this tool allows you to enter your research question, pull up relevant work, and view an AI-generated Study Snapshot that extracts key information about a study’s methods and can quickly reveal the strength of your research questions based on verified data. Displayed sources include a one-sentence review that summarizes the key findings of the study which may greatly assist in the search process. Consensus also flags other aspects of the study that might be relevant to researchers, including if it’s highly cited, a randomized controlled trial, published in a rigorous journal, or a systemic review. Consensus has free and premium options but allows unlimited searches and the ability to export research lists in all of its packages. All current students and faculty with an active university email can now try Consensus Premium for free, for three months. (As of 2/12/25)
• Semantic Scholar Semantic Scholar is an advanced, AI-powered academic search engine developed by the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence. It is designed to help researchers efficiently find and understand scientific literature across various disciplines. Here’s a detailed overview of its features and functionalities: Semantic Scholar uses artificial intelligence to enhance search capabilities, allowing users to find relevant papers quickly. It employs machine learning algorithms to understand the context and semantics of search queries, providing more accurate and relevant results than traditional keyword-based search engines. Comprehensive Database: The platform indexes millions of academic papers from diverse fields, including computer science, neuroscience, and biomedical research. It aggregates data from various sources, including publishers, preprint servers, and institutional repositories. Citation Analysis: Semantic Scholar offers robust citation analysis tools, enabling users to track the influence and impact of research papers. It provides citation graphs and metrics, helping researchers identify seminal works and emerging trends in their fields. Author Profiles: The platform creates detailed author profiles, showcasing their publications, citation counts, and h-index. This feature helps users explore the work of specific researchers and understand their contributions to the scientific community. Paper Summaries: Semantic Scholar generates concise summaries of research papers, highlighting key points and findings. This feature aids in quickly grasping the essence of a paper without reading it in its entirety. Open Access and PDF Links: The search engine identifies open access papers and provides direct links to PDF versions when available, facilitating easy access to full-text articles. Research Recommendations: Based on user activity and interests, Semantic Scholar suggests related papers and topics, helping researchers discover new areas of interest and stay updated with the latest developments. Semantic Search: Unlike traditional search engines, Semantic Scholar uses semantic search techniques to understand the meaning behind search queries, improving the relevance of search results. Applications: Academic Research: Researchers use Semantic Scholar to conduct literature reviews, find relevant studies, and explore new research areas. Education: Educators and students leverage the platform to access a wide range of academic resources for learning and teaching purposes. Industry: Professionals in various industries use Semantic Scholar to stay informed about scientific advancements and apply research findings to practical applications. Conclusion: Semantic Scholar is a powerful tool for researchers, educators, and professionals seeking to navigate the vast landscape of scientific literature. Its AI-driven capabilities and comprehensive features make it an invaluable resource for discovering, analyzing, and understanding academic research.

• Interculturality As an Object of Research and Education: Observing, Reflecting and Critiquing by Dervin, Fred, Chen, Ning

  Call Number: LB1 -3640

  ISBN: 9789819915026

  Publication Date: 2023
• AI iQ for a human-focused future: strategy, talent, and culture by Dobrin, Seth

  Call Number: HG4515.5D632025

  ISBN: 9781040087770

  Publication Date: 2025

  Contents: The foundation -- The uncomfortable truth about AI -- Connection to tangible value -- AI-ready culture -- Organizational structure -- Infrastructure readiness -- Data readiness -- AI readiness -- Generative artificial intelligence readiness -- Compliance readiness -- Assessing your readiness -- Chief AI officer, one leader for AI -- Pulling it all together to build your AI iQ.

• Academic Search Complete
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
• ERIC

• Choice-ACRL Webinars Sign up for a free digital seminar

  Stay current on library trends and discover more about where the field is headed. Industry experts lead these sponsored, 60-minute interactive presentations, which cover topics like library technology, DEIA, leadership and management, and open access and OER.

• Chat vs. Email - Quick Communication Guide for Librarians

  Choosing the right communication tool keeps our work clear, efficient, and respectful of everyone's time. Use this guide to decide when to use chat and when to use email.

• TLA 2026 March 29-31 in Houston
• Medical Library Association, Jan 8-11, 2026 in Toronto
• ACRL 2027 April 7-10, 2027 in Portland, OR
• Computers in Libraries March 17-19, 2026 in Arlington, VA
• Annual Conference & Exhibition, Chicago, IL, June 25-30, 2026
• The Charleston Conference, November 2-6, 2026
• January 31- February 4, 2026 in San Antonio, Texas
• ER&L March 1-4, 2026, Austin, TX
• TCAL Annual Conference, Sept 20-22, 2026. Galveston, TX

• ACRL Presents Webcasts

  The ACRL Presents program offers free occasional webcasts on issues of broad interest and importance to the academic and research library community. Check back often for upcoming live sessions, or browse our archived recordings.