Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education and Its Discontents : teaching, the humanities, and the importance of a liberal education in the age of mass information by
Publication Date: 2011-12-21
Education and Its Discontents: Teaching, the Humanities, and the Importance of a Liberal Education in the Age of Mass Information, by Mark Moss, is an exploration of how the traditional educational environment, particularly in the post-secondary world, is changing as a consequence of the influx of new technology. Students come to the classroom or lecture hall expecting to have their habits and tastes, gleaned from the online world, replicated in an Educational environment. Faculty who do not adapt face enormous obstacles, and faculty that do adapt run the risk of eroding the integrity of what they have been trained to teach. Students now have access to myriad of technologies that instead of supplementing the educational process, have actually taken it over. Issues that run from plagiarism to the erosion of the humanities are now rampant concerns in the post secondary world. Behavior issues, YouTube videos, cell phones, and the incessant clicking of the computer keys are just a few of the technologies altering the educational landscape. Moss discusses that it is now not only how we learn, but what we continue to teach, and how that enormously important legacy is protected. Education and Its Discontents: Teaching, the Humanities, and the Importance of a Liberal Education in the Age of Mass Information, by Mark Moss, argues that education has changed and the supremacy of the book and the lecture is now open for debate. What has been gained over the last five hundred years is now susceptible to the vagaries of technology, which compel us to question their continuing relevance.
Fostering a climate of inclusion in the college classroom : the missing voice of the humanities by
Publication Date: 2018
This book examines inclusion teaching at the college and university level. It establishes the importance of the Humanities disciplines and the use of qualitative analysis as a means of understanding and encouraging democratic materials and classroom organization. The first section of the text provides two primers for those unfamiliar with pedagogical history and theory. These primers are designed to give basic information and sources for additional study. They trace pedagogical influences from foundationism, neoliberalism, conflict, and critical theories to critical race theory, Red pedagogy, and decolonization theories. The second half of the book focuses on strategies to assist those attempting classroom inclusion. These chapters are designed to assist with practical ways in which inclusion can be advanced as well as strategies to assist junior faculty in the navigation of the politics of inclusive education.
ACC Libraries subscribe to many electronic resources. For off-campus access, log in with your ACCeID
Below are links to e-resources that will help you locate articles in the humanities.
*Note--For help with your ACCeID and password: ACCeID login manager.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Digital library of over one million images related to art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Films on Demand
Educational streaming videos for most subject areas.
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Contains more than 18,000 streaming videos, including films from the Criterion Collection, festival circuit documentaries, and TV series.
Kanopy (and not ACC) requires that you create a free account before accessing.
Literary Reference Center
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
Oxford Art Online
Online art collection that includes thousands of images and articles on artists, eras, and movements.