Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Catalog
Here are some examples of search strategies for Emergency Management:
- Disaster Recovery
- Emergency Management
- Emergency Preparedness
- Hazard Mitigation
- Natural Disaster
Searching for Streaming Videos
Once you have searched and retrieved results, you can use the limiters on the left sidebar to limit your results to available material types. Check the box labeled Streaming Videos to find what is available for viewing.
You can also search directly from the educational Films on Demand and Kanopy video content databases.
Browse the Shelves
Materials in the ACC libraries are shelved according to the Library of Congress Classification System.
Call numbers to browse to find information for this subject are:
- HD49 - 49.5 Crisis Management and Emergency Management
- HV551.2 - 639 Emergency Management
You can browse the library shelves in these call number ranges to look for library materials that interest you.
If you cannot find the materials you need, ask a librarian for assistance!
Library Resources Quick Search
Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.
A dictionary of disaster management by
Call Number: HV553 EBK
Publication Date: 2017
This dictionary provides definitions of terms covering disaster research and management. It features practical terms, key concepts in disaster research from a social science perspective, and key organizations involved in disaster management, allowing readers to access definitions on the most important topics within this developing field.
Disaster Policy and Politics by
Call Number: HV551.3 .S95 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-17
Richard Sylves, comprehensively surveys the field of emergency management while building on his original research and sharing his insider knowledge. Providing much needed synthesis of the field's major findings, scholarship, and current developments, Sylves structures the book with an analytical framework that focuses on the challenge of effective intergovernmental relations, both across levels of government and across types of disasters, to guide readers through instructive and important political history as well as recent crises. Whether for an undergraduate studying the topic for the first time or a practitioner looking for professional development, Disaster Policy and Politics will prove to be a highly readable, informative text and handbook aimed at laying a foundation of knowledge and know-how.
Emergency Management by
Publication Date: 2019-07-19
The spate of disaster events ranging from major to catastrophic that have occurred in recent years raises a lot of questions about where and why they happened. Understanding the history of emergency management policies and practice is important to an understanding of current and future policies and practice. Continuing in the footsteps of its popular predecessors, the new edition of Emergency Management: The American Experience provides the background to understand the key political and policy underpinnings of emergency management, exploring how major "focusing events" have shaped the field of emergency management. This edition builds on the original theoretical framework and chronological approach of previous editions, while enhancing the discussions through the addition of fresh information about the effects and outcomes of older events, such as Hurricane Katrina and the BP oil spill. The final chapters offer insightful discussion of the public administration concepts of emergency management in the U.S. and of the evolving federal role in emergency management. Like its predecessors, the third edition of Emergency Management is a trusted and required text to understand the formation and continuing improvement of the American national emergency management system.
Emergency Management by
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Provides a comprehensive examination of emergency management and offers concepts and strategies for creating effective programs This book looks at the larger context within which emergency management response occurs, and stresses the development of a program to address a wide range of issues. Not limited to traditional emergency response to natural disasters, it addresses a conceptual model capable of integrating multiple disciplines and dealing with unexpected emergencies. Emergency Management: Concepts and Strategies for Effective Programs, Second Edition starts by focusing on the three pillars on which successful emergency management is based: an understanding of history, knowledge of social science research, and technical expertise in emergency management operations. It provides insight as to how emergency management has evolved and suggests reasons why the current method of response planning doesn't work as well as it should. The book then goes on to discuss establishing and administering the emergency management program. It looks at the analysis of risk as the basis for strategy development, and considers both the traditional macro view of hazard identification and analysis as well as the micro view required for continuity planning. Strategy development is examined next, followed by coverage of planning process, techniques and methods. The book finishes with chapters on coordinating response, leading in crisis, and crisis management. Features two new chapters on the development of national response strategy and leadership in a crisis Incorporates the Principles of Emergency Management adopted by many emergency management professional associations and agencies Encourages the development of an enterprise wide program to address a wide range of potential threats Covers the various phases of comprehensive emergency management Integrates academic research with practical experience and case studies Emergency Management: Concepts and Strategies for Effective Programs is an important book that will benefit students, law enforcement, and state and local emergency managers and planners involved in emergency management.
Emergency Management Exercises by
Publication Date: 2010-11-20
Exercises are a mainstay in the field of emergency management and business continuity planning. Although many companies conduct exercises, and the organizers may be emergency response subject matter experts, they do not excel in the discipline of designing and conducting the actual exercise – which means they simply don't get the best results out of their effort. This thoughtful book starts with a "silly little question": Why are we doing this? What seems like a simple query is actually one of the keys to get the most out of every exercise you design. This text peels back the design process with the goal of creating the best experience possible. Whether you are developing a simple tabletop exercises or working on a full-scale extravaganza that resembles a Hollywood movie, this book will provide you with gems of wisdom that will make your next exercise sizzle. An internationally recognized expert in exercise design, Regina Phelps shares many of her secrets to ensure your exercise success.
Health and Safety in Emergency Management and Response by
Call Number: HV551.2 .S726 2021
Publication Date: 2020-11-16
This book familiarizes personnel serving as Emergency Managers, Safety Officers, Assistant Safety Officers, and in other safety-relevant Incident Command System (ICS) roles with physical and psychosocial hazards and stressors that may impact the health and safety of workers and responders in an All-Hazards Response, and ways to minimize exposure. This book provides knowledge on regulations and worker safety practices to the Safety Officer with an emergency responder background, and provides the tools for the Safety Officer with an industrial hygiene or safety professional background that help them be successful in this role. In order to work together effectively, it is important that anyone responding to an emergency be familiar with all standards and protocols.
How to think about homeland security. Volume 1, The imperfect intersection of national security and public safety by
Publication Date: 2019
pt. I The Concept of National Security -- 1.What Is a Nation? -- 2.What Is Security? -- 3.What Is National Security? -- 4.National Security Begins with Academics, Theory, and Inquiry -- 5.Conflicting Ways to Think about Security -- 6.Conflicting Beliefs about Security and the Nature of Man -- pt. II The Emergence of National Security Strategy -- 7.From Thought and Belief to Security Theory and Practice -- 8.What Is Strategy? -- 9.What Is A National Security Strategy? -- 10.What Is THE National Security Strategy of the United States? -- pt. III The Emergence of Homeland Security -- 11.So What Is Homeland Security, and Why Does It Exist? -- 12.Building a Systemic Solution for a New Domestic Defense -- 13.Systemic Challenge #1: Tensions -- 14.Systemic Challenge #2: Perspectives -- 15.Systemic Challenge #3: Theory (or Lack Thereof) -- pt. IV Imperfect Intersection -- 16.How to Think about Homeland Security: Go Ask Your MOMs.
Increasing Resilience in Police and Emergency Personnel by
Call Number: HV7936 .J63 C66 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Increasing Resilience in Police and Emergency Personnel illuminates the psychological, emotional, behavioral, and spiritual impact of police work on police officers, administrators, emergency communicators, and their families. Author Stephanie Conn, a clinician and researcher as well as a former police officer and dispatcher, debunks myths about weakness and offers practical strategies in plain language for police employees and their families struggling with traumatic stress and burnout. Sections of each chapter also offer guidance for frequently overlooked roles such as police administrators and civilian police employees. Using real-world anecdotes and exercises, this book provides strengths-based guidance to help navigate the many complex and sometimes difficult effects of police and emergency work.
An Introduction to Emergency Exercise Design and Evaluation by
Call Number: HV551.2 .M39 2017 EB
Publication Date: 2017
Emergency exercises: objectives & purpose -- Essential exercise design elements and steps -- Issues in exercise design -- Exercise organization and structure -- Exercise control and management -- Exercise evaluation principles -- Exercise evaluation issues -- Useful considerations in exercise planning -- Summing it up.
Theorizing Crisis Communication by
Call Number: P94.7 .S384 2013 EBK
Publication Date: 2013-01-09
Theorizing Crisis Communication presents a comprehensive review and critique of the broad range of theoretical frameworks designed to explain the role of communication in the development, management, and consequences of natural and man-made crises. Brings together the variety of theoretical approaches emerging in the study of crisis communication into one volume for the first time. Summarizes theories from such diverse perspectives as rhetoric, risk management, ethics, mass communication, social media, emergency response, crisis outcomes, and warning systems, while presenting clear examples of how the theory is applied in crisis communication research Presents theoretical frameworks generated by research from many disciplines including sociology, psychology, applied anthropology, public health, public relations, political science, organizational studies, and criminal justice.