Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journalism: "Journalism is the act of producing media—print, broadcast, or otherwise—for consumption by the general public, that covers newsworthy events. Journalism is a type of mass communication—an area of study and professional expertise that focuses on effectively relaying information to a large group of people."
Lundin, L. L. ..MA. “Journalism.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2022. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=ers&AN=89406433&site=eds-live&scope=site.
Master Class: teaching advice for journalism and mass communication instructors by
Publication Date: 2017-12-28
In Master Class: Teaching Advice for Journalism and Mass Communication Instructors, members of the AEJMC Elected Standing Committee on Teaching take readers behind the scenes to explain the teaching strategies, preparation tips, exercises, and project ideas that have, in many cases, earned them university and national teaching awards. It is designed to benefit everyone from instructors-in-training who are about to teach their first class to more experienced professors who are looking for ways to freshen their approach in the classroom. A companion website with additional resources can be found at http: //www.aejmc.org/home/resources/teaching-help/
Journal Article Databases
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary Database provided by EBSCO. Contains articles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers. It also contains an image collection (top right, on green bar).
MasterFile Premier contains full-text articles from almost 2000 general magazines and 500 reference works.
Journalism Web Resources
Site includes a variety of instructional materials, including tutorials on understanding financial markets. Also articles on the stock market, technology, minority business trends, and business ethics. Also contains a glossary on business terms.
The Institute for Interactive Journalism
Helps journalists and citizens use digital technologies to develop new ways for people to participate in public life with projects on innovations in journalism, citizen media, interactive news stories, training and research and publications.
The site serves as a portal for persons interested in journalism, contains a catalog of tools, techniques and ideas, empirical research, job links, and numerous other helpful materials for the general public, practicing journalists, & journalism students.
NewsLab is an online resource center for television and radio newsrooms, focused on improving journalism.
The Pulitzer Prizes
Site has access to a rich storehouse of information on the best in American newspaper journalism and the arts from 1917 to the present. A timeline of past winners, and info on history of prizes...
Society of Environmental Journalists
The SEJ's primary goal is to advance public understanding of critically important environmental issues through more and better environmental journalism.
Undercover Reporting: Deception for Journalism's Sake
"This collaboration with NYU Libraries collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S.-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. It grows out of the research for Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (Northwestern University Press, 2012), which argues that much of the valuable journalism since before the U.S. Civil War has emerged from investigations that employed subterfuge to expose wrong. It asserts that undercover work, though sometimes criticized as deceptive or unethical, embodies a central tenet of good reporting--to extract significant information or expose hard-to-penetrate institutions or social situations that deserve the public's attention. The site, designed as a resource for scholars, student researchers and journalists, collects some of the best investigative work going back almost two centuries."