TexShare Databases Program Changes: Home

“Nothing is so painful to the human mind as a great and sudden change.”

Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, Frankenstein

• Check out the new database offerings from TexShare: Academic OneFile, Academic Video Online, etc.
  • There is overlap with the new databases vs. those leaving TexShare. Can your curriculum needs be met via these new offerings?
• Review the databases to be dropped: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, etc.
• Review syllabi, Blackboard, and other content links to library databases.
  • Will your links to content need to be updated?
• Look for communication from LS and your subject librarians about upcoming changes and updates

Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources,

The TexShare Databases Program has made significant platform changes this year.

What is TexShare?

• Statewide consortia of academic, public, K-12 libraries
• Established in 1994 via Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB)
  • 2001: database program created
• TexShare currently has around 700 members
• Texas State Library and Archives Commission oversees the program
• Includes the sharing of services and resources: TexShare Card, loaning of materials, services
   

Academic Video Online contains nearly 70,000 streaming videos.

Q. Which databases are joining the TexShare databases program?
Around 30 Gale databases and 10 ProQuest databases have been added to the program.

Q: When will the new TexShare databases be available?

New TexShare databases are available now and linked via the LS website.

Q. Which databases are leaving the TexShare program?
Around 50 EBSCO databases and the Infobase product Credo Reference are leaving TexShare.

Q. When will access be lost?
TexShare access to EBSCO resources (except LearningExpress Library) ends August 31, 2023.

• barring any new ACCLS consortia deals, direct funding, etc.

TexShare access to Credo Reference ends December 31, 2022.

Q: How much does it cost ACCLS to belong to the TexShare consortium?

$26,889 (AY22)

Q. Are there any resources available to support the changes?

Texas State Library

• TexShare: FY23 Contracted Databases
• Recording and presentation slides of the Aug 30th TexShare Update

EBSCO

• Support Center for TexShare

Gale

• TexShare Support: Training, Marketing, Technical Docs

ProQuest

• Webinar recording: TexShare - New Subscriptions Overview
• TexShare Resources LibGuide
• Alexander Street Media Platform LibGuide
• Academic Video Online LibGuide

Q: I have questions about library resources that I am currently using in my curriculum. Whom can I speak with about these TexShare database changes potentially affecting an assignment?

Faculty Librarian subject experts assist faculty with

• the selection of material for campus library collections
• finding resources to support your course design and class assignments
• the creation of guides to research and resources in subject areas

Please reach out to the librarian responsible for a subject area or talk with a librarian at your campus!

Your subject librarian liaison will keep you informed about upcoming changes and updates to the TexShare program. Please reach out to them with any questions, concerns, or comments.

Also, ACC's E-Resources Librarian is a great place to start with any and all TexShare queries.

• Around half of library databases are funded via the TexShare consortium
  • ACCLS funds the other half through other consortia and/or directly
• Annual fee between 20k and 30k for 20+ years
• Relatively stable suite of resources for 20+ years
• ACCLS Collection Development Policy
   

Behavior and Mental Health Online contains over 2,500 videos and 3,500 books, documents and transcripts.