Skip to main content

Anthropology: Home

This includes both physical and cultural anthropology and archaeology

Welcome to Anthropology

"Nothing human is alien to anthropology. Indeed, of the many disciplines that study our species, Homo sapiens, only anthropology seeks to understand the whole panorama--in geographic space and evolutionary time--of human existence."
    --American Anthropological Society

Have a recommendation?

Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection?  Fill out the form linked below and let me know!

Anthropology Collection Recommendations

Types of Resources

There are several types of information available to students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:

Books You can find a wealth of resources in the library's book collection. A book can provide detailed background information on a topic.
Reference Books Encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, etc. are considered reference sources. Access these types of resources when you need to find definitions, biographies, overviews, and historical information.
Articles Articles can be found in journals, magazines, or newspapers.  Articles can vary in scope, but usually fall into one of two categories, scholarly and popular.     
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources and professional organizations.  Just be sure to carefully evaluate the information found here.

Anthropology Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Anthropology Spotlight App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Anthropology Spotlight-Provides access to information on all of the latest news and developments in the field of anthropology. Includes the latest information on conferences, abstracts from articles and books, access to publishing workshops, and more. (iOS)

Digital Atlas Ancient Life App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Digital Atlas Ancient Life-An interactive digital atlas for the paleontology time periods: Neogene, Pennsylvanian, Ordovician. (iOS)

Egyptian Gods & Mythology Pocket Reference App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Egyptian Gods & Mythology Pocket Reference-A detailed pocket reference app covering the ancient Egyptian gods and other mythological figures. (iOS)

Native American Indian Pictures and History App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Native American Indian Pictures and History-Real photos of Native Americans from the Apache, Cherokee, and Pima Tribes plus many others. Also includes facts on  Native American conflicts and wars, Native American timeline of important events, Native American vocabulary, and more. (iOS)

Fossils App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Fossils-includes examples from all of the major varieties of fossilised life, from preserved trees and grasses to molluscs, trilobites, fish and dinosaurs, Fossils offers a comprehensive overview of these remarkable relics from every continent and gives a sense of the huge amount of natural history available to us in the fossil record. (iOS)

Loading

May I help you?

Mary Havens's picture
Mary Havens
Contact:
Reference Librarian/Assistant Professor
Elgin Campus
Austin Community College
1501 W HWY 290
Elgin, TX 78621
512-223-9462

ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College • Last update 7-6-2017