Skip to main content

Sociology: General Info

A research guide for Sociology students at Austin Community College

Spotlight on Local History

From Austin Community College's Center for Public Policy and Political Studies, through its Jeffrey M. Friedman Political Video History Project, comes the documentary The Economy Furniture Strike. This is an oral history of the local labor dispute which resulted in the political mobilization of Mexican-Americans in Austin/Travis County. From the project's web page (http://policyaustin.org/economyfstrike/) you can access indiviudal interviews from principal participants of the strike.

Learn more about the Jeffrey M. Friedman Political Video History Project here.

US News RSS Feed by Reuters

Loading

How to search for Sociology Information

There are several types of information available to Sociology students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:

Books You can find a good selection of Sociology books in our collection. A book can provide detailed background and in-depth historical information about any given topic.
Reference Books This covers encyclopedias, atlases, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations, quick historical and biographical sketches.
Articles Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are the primary source for information on current social issues, recent sociological studies, and applications of sociological theory in the real world. ACC databases can help connect you to these articles.
Web Sites The internet can provide a wealth of good information, especially from government sources and professional organizations.

 

Sociology Video Pick

"Steven Pinker charts the decline of violence from Biblical times to the present, and argues that, though it may seem illogical and even obscene, given Iraq and Darfur, we are living in the most peaceful time in our species' existence" (Description and video from www.ted.com ).  You can search for books by Steven Pinker in the ACC Library Catalog.

Sociology Apps

Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.

ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons. Please refer to the Tablet Circulation Policy for further details.

Sociology Spotlight App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Sociology Spotlight-Includes information on sociology conferences and conference tweets, abstracts for sociology articles and books, news in and around the discipline, and more. (iOS

The Savvy Social Worker App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
The Savvy Social Worker-Provides new developments in social work practice, including evidence-based and best practices. (Android)

Social Work Field Guide App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
Social Work Field Guide-Contains over 50 pre-loaded nationally available services, therapeutic exercises, how-to's, and more. (iOS)

The Marriage App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
The Marriage App-Provides a daily boost to help you strengthen your marriage relationship: a story or word of encouragement, a verse of scripture, and suggestions for connecting with your spouse. (iOS/Android)

FamilyLife App-please select iOS or Android below to access the app
FamilyLife-Provides engaging content, resources, and challenges based on biblical principles to help nurture relationships. (iOS)

Loading

Subject Librarian

Barbara Jorge
Contact:
7748 Highway 290 West
Austin, Tx 78736
512.223.8091

Have a recommendation?

Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection?  Fill out the form linked below and let me know!


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College • Last update 7-6-2017