Check out building trust in law enforcement page. This guide outlines what law enforcement organizations are already doing to foster confidence, and what else can and needs to be done.
Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection? Fill out the form linked below and let me know!
Apps (little software applications) allow you to customize your tablet to do the things you like to do. Some of the apps listed are free, while others are fee-based. Additionally, some apps are initially free, and then require in-app purchases if more features and functionality are desired. Listed, you will find some app recommendations we have come up with through trial, error, and our own experiences.
ACC Library Services does not endorse any fee-based apps nor it is liable for reimbursement of any apps paid for by patrons.
Miranda Warnings/Rights-designed as a quick reference to assist law enforcement and security officers in mirandizing suspects. (iOS)
Crime News - Criminal Justice News App is an app that provides daily updates on criminal justice news. It covers topics such as crime trends, sentencing, and court rulings. The app curates news content from reputable sources, making it a reliable source of information. (iOS)
myFBI Dashboard - myFBI Dashboard features a personalized news feed that allows you to select and view the FBI content that interests you. (iOS, Android)
US Cop-An app for police officers that includes accident investigation formulas; brake efficiency; narrative templates; different tire size speed calculator; LiDAR test instructions; Warrant PUR guidelines; Pill identifier; DEA drug schedule; DEA chemical list; pills of abuse photos; NADDI pharmaceutical drugs of abuse pamphlets; commonly abused prescription drug pics and much more. (Android)
Criminal justice research is important for success in the field, safety, and longevity.
There are several types of information available to Criminal Justice students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:
| Reference Works | This covers encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other resources that are referred to for specific information. Go to these for definitions, shorter explanations, historical information, and biographical sketches. |
| Books and Media |
You can find a good selection of criminal justice books and media that provide detailed information on current criminal justice and law enforcement practice and techniques, as well as historical information, prominent figures in criminal justice and their work, and criminal justice theory. |
| Articles | Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are a good source for recent developments in the field of criminal justice. You can find technical tips, current trends, and product reviews, as well as the work of practicing criminal justice professionals published in major newspapers, magazines, and journals. ACC databases can help connect you to these articles. |
| Web Sites | The internet can provide a wealth of information, especially from government sources, professional organizations, and on-line criminal justice magazines. |
Use the tabs above to get more information.
The Center for Government and Civic Service would like to invite you to participate in their upcoming Civic Leadership Simulation at ACC Rio Grande: Building 3000. At the event, you will have the opportunity to play a role to build and enhance communication and problem-solving skills relevant to civic engagement and leadership.
"A citywide health alert was issue today as local and federal officials confirmed that a genetically modified plant, developed by Austin-based biotech company GeneSys Innovations, has been linked to a rapidly spreading outbreak of a new disease. The plant, known as "Luxflora," was originally celebrated for its vibrant, glowing foliage but is now at the center of a growing health crisis. The disease, tentatively named "Virescenia," has been reported to cause severe respiratory and dermatological symptoms. Advanced cases involve growth of plant-like formations sprouting from the skin and in severe situations sprouting inside the victim's body. The disease has affected over 5,000 people in the greater Austin metropolitan area, with the greatest concentration of victims occurring in affluent areas where the plants were popular and citizens able to afford to purchase them.
To prevent panic from striking the city, local, state and federal officials will host a public meeting to inform attendees, including individual citizens, citizen groups, and the media concerning measures the government will take to prevent the spread of the disease and assist those affected by the outbreak. Many have wondered about the true nature of the disease, and are doubtful about the government's ability to manage the emerging epidemic. This meeting will be pivotal in either generating a more unified public and government response or in seeing the situation spiral out of control.
Where: ACC Rio Grande: Building 3000 - 1218 West Avenue.
When: November 22nd, 4:30 pm - 8:30 pm
No experience needed! We are committed to making this a fun and positive learning experience that enables and empowers participants to more effectively represent themselves and their communities in government and civic settings. If you interested, just fill out the following questions and register:
UT, Austin Public Library, WorldCat, etc.