LibGuides: ENGL 1301/INRW 0340: Ackers Summer '24: Finding Articles: Understanding Databases

Databases Explained

"What Are Databases and Why You Need Them" by Yavapai College Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Reference Article Databases

Below is a list of ACC Library reference databases where you may find resources in support of your research assignments. These are just suggestions and this list is not a full list of all of the databases ACC Libraries subscribes to. You may find a full list of ACC Library databases on the A-Z List of Databases page.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific reference works on all major topic areas.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes over 25,000 articles covering an array of topics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online art collection that includes thousands of images and articles on artists, eras, and movements.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and illustrations.

Suggested Magazine/Newspaper/Journal Article Databases

Below is a list of ACC Library magazine, journal, and newspaper databases where you may find resources in support of your research assignments. These are just suggestions and this list is not a full list of all of the databases ACC Libraries subscribes to. You may find a full list of ACC Library databases on the A-Z List of Databases page.

List of all ACC Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Offering written plays, video, acting classes, scholarly critical books, and audio plays, Drama Online supports English Shakespeare curriculum, drama practitioner curriculum, and more.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary documents about world history.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand academic journals and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes both Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism -- extensive compilation of literary commentary -- and Gale's Short Story Criticism -- thousands of essays on the critical response to short story writers
The New York Times This link opens in a new window
All ACC faculty, students, and staff have full access to The New York Times website.
First time users register using your ACC email at Access NYTime URL: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles on topics in psychiatry, psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of relevance to the discipline
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work. It also includes thousands of author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from 1987 to the present.