Skip to Main Content
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

Fall '25 - HIST 1301 - Darbonne - by Kara Dixon: Start Your Search

The BIG Search Box - Library Homepage

The BIG Search Box - Library Homepage Cont.

The BIG search box on the library's homepage is a great place to go when individual databases don't seem to be working. It gives you LOTS of results, but often includes some irrelevant sources or some that are not full text. It's easy to use--a few tips are included below:

Tips:

  • Try to use accurate but sparing keywords, like "adaptations Walter Mitty," rather than full sentences or questions. 
  • Be sure to sign in right away with your ACC eID and password to access all the results available. 
  • Click the "Full Text" button on the search results page to ensure that you are looking at fully available sources. 
  • Click the titles of promising results to see more information, and look for Access Options to view the full text. 

General Purpose Databases

Below is a selection of some multi-subject databases from the complete A-Z List.  Explore these databases to narrow your search to specific collections and potentially reduce the number of irrelevant results.  

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including thousands of podcasts as well as videos.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly articles, news, and research on topics in most subject areas.

American History

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

CQ Researcher
In-depth coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Reports from 1991 - present.

Gale eBooks
Online collection of general and subject-specific encyclopedias on all major topic areas.
Gale General OneFile
General-interest periodical resource with millions of articles from magazines and journals.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints 
Articles with pro and con viewpoints from reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, and government and organizational statistics.
JSTOR
Explore over 2,000 academic journals and primary sources, including Artstor's collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College