Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drug and Natural Medicine Info Library Databases
Library Ebook Collections
Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.
Drug Information and Supplement Information - MayoClinic.com
Information about prescription and over-the-counter medications, as well as herb, vitamin and other supplement information from Natural Standard. It may be searched by either brand name or generic name. (Suggestion: Use alphabetic links for searching for
National Institute of Health Resources
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
These sites provide information about specific drugs such as their dosage and side effects.
Daily Med - Current Medication Infomation
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). Tabbed format makes this site easy to use.
Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)
The database links you to the information from the labels of over 30,000 dietary supplement products in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements. It includes name, form, active and inactive ingredients, amount of active ingredient, manufacturer/distributor information, label claims, warnings, percentage of daily value, and additional label information. The database can be searched by product names, text terms found on product labels, specific dietary ingredients, and manufacturers.
Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine
The Drug Information Portal offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information. More than 15,000 drugs are available for searching. Search results include links to related drug information in MedlinePlus.
Drugs, Herbs, Supplements
Consumer health site from MedlinePlus, the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Read about side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
The database Drugs and Lactation, or LactMed, responds to the increased prevalence of breastfeeding worldwide. Drugs in breast milk pose a potential risk to the breast-fed infant, and LactMed provides healthcare practitioners and nursing mothers with data and information on drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, and the effects of those agents on nursing infants and on lactation. LactMed contains about 1,000 records on drugs, herbals and dietary supplements that also include a summary regarding use of the specified substance during lactation, potential alternative medications, and references that are linked to their respective PubMed records. LactMed is endorsed by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
The LiverTox database provides researchers, physicians, and patients with up-to-date and comprehensive information about drug induced liver injury. It contains drug records with concise data on medications, herbals, and dietary supplements that can affect the liver. LiverTox also includes a case registry that allows users to submit relevant clinical cases to LiverTox and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
PDR Health: Drugs and Supplements
Provides information on prescription drugs and over the counter drugs as well as herbals and other supplements. Designed for a general audience.
Pillbox (Indentify pills by appearance)
This website allows you to identify pills using the shape, color, size, scoring and imprint. Pillbox was created by a partnership between the National Library of Medicine and the Food and Drug Administration. Pillbox is designed for use by emergency physicians, first responders, other health care providers, Poison Control Center staff, and concerned citizens.
RxClass allows users to search by class name or identifier to find the RxNorm drug members or, conversely, search by RxNorm drug name or identifier to find the classes that the RxNorm drug is a member of.
RxList - The Internet Drug Index for prescription drugs and medications
RxList Database consists of products currently on the US market or close to approval. It may be searched by either brand name or generic name and can be searched simultaneously for potential drug interactions, side effects and indications.
RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, MediSpan, Gold Standard Alchemy, and Multum. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary. RxNorm files are available through the NLM download server.