Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources Quick Search
Search for Library Resources.
Type the keyword(s) in the box below then press Enter or click the Search button.
Catalog Search Help
You can search all of the library's resources in one place from one search box. Books, ebooks, streaming videos, articles, DVDs...they're all searchable from the Library Home Page or the Search Tool. After you get results note that they are displayed on two tabs: [ Books, movies, and music ] [ Journals, magazines, news ]
Search operators can be used within the Basic Search:
- AND = type more than one word
Note: AND is implied; don't type it in.
- NOT = use minus sign (-)
texas house -senate
- Quote (exact phrase) Search = use quote marks around the phrase
Have a recommendation?
Is there a title you think would make a good addition to the Library Collection? Fill out the form linked below and let me know!
The following list contains books at ACC that you might find helpful for government research. For more new titles in this subject area take a look at our new books and videos page.
Can We All Get Along? by
Call Number: E184 .A1 M347 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-04
In a nation built by immigrants and bedeviled by the history and legacy of slavery and discrimination, how do we, as Americans, reconcile a commitment to equality and freedom with persistent inequality and discrimination? And what can we do about it? This widely acclaimed text by Paula D. McClain, with new coauthor Jessica D. Johnson Carew, provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the historical and contemporary political experience of the major groups-African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and American Indians-in the United States. It explores the similarities and differences in these groups' representation and participation in law, politics, and policymaking, discusses the enduring issues and concerns that they face, and examines intra- and inter-group competition and coalition-building in the face of enduring conflict and inequality. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to include coverage of President Barack Obama's second term, the 2016 election, police brutality and Black Lives Matter, and the Dakota Access Pipeline protest movement. With a brand-new chapter on the intersections of race and gender, Can We All Get Along? remains unparalleled in its comparative coverage of the current landscape of minority politics in the United States.
An Unprecedented Election: Media, Communication, and the Electorate in the 2016 Campaign by
Call Number: JK526 2016 .U67 2018 EB
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
Written by leading scholars in the field of political communication, this book provides a comprehensive accounting of the campaign communication that characterized the unprecedented 2016 presidential campaign. * Provides detailed coverage of the most salient issues in the 2016 campaign from multiple perspectives and frames of reference * Presents contributions from top scholars in political communication representing the very best doctoral programs in the field, including numerous past presidents of the National Communication Association's political communication division * Includes all-original, multi-methodological, quantitative and qualitative research, giving readers a fuller understanding of the trends in and effects and content of political communication in the election
Call Number: KF4891 .D35 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
An answer to the assault on voting rights--crucial reading in advance of the 2020 presidential election The Voting Rights Act of 1965 is considered one of the most effective pieces of legislation the United States has ever passed. It enfranchised hundreds of thousands of voters, particularly in the American South, and drew attention to the problem of voter suppression. Yet in recent years there has been a continuous assault on access to the ballot box in the form of stricter voter ID requirements, meritless claims of rigged elections, and baseless accusations of voter fraud. In the past these efforts were aimed at eliminating African American voters from the rolls, and today, new laws seek to eliminate voters of color, the poor, and the elderly, groups that historically vote for the Democratic Party. Uncounted examines the phenomenon of disenfranchisement through the lens of history, race, law, and the democratic process. Gilda R. Daniels, who served as Deputy Chief in the United States Department of Justice Civil Rights Division and more than two decades of voting rights experience, argues that voter suppression works in cycles, constantly adapting and finding new ways to hinder access for an exponentially growing minority population. She warns that a premeditated strategy of restrictive laws and deceptive practices has taken root and is eroding the very basis of American democracy--the right to vote!
States' Rights and the Role of the Federal Government by
Call Number: JK311 .S735 2019
Publication Date: 2018-07-15
The balance of power between states and the federal government has long been a point of contention. In an era when one political party controls the three branches of the federal government, the possibility to employ states' rights to resist objectionable federal policy has made it a highly contemporary issue. With states' rights at the center of issues like sanctuary cities, abortion, gun control, and LGBTQ rights, understanding the distribution of power between state and federal government is key to grasping the current political climate and the future of American politics.