Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Government Information
The federal government produces a great deal of information and makes much of it available on the Web. Although the following list of links is not comprehensive, it can get you started as you search the Web for U.S. government information.
This site is the official web portal of the U.S. Government. Here you can find links to most federal departments and agencies, as well as key information for citizens, businesses and nonprofits, and more.
Office of the President of the United States
This site provides information on the offices of the President and Vice-President and their families. It is also a good starting place for general information about the executive branch, with links to many departments, agencies, commissions, and more.
The United States House of Representatives
The House of Representatives is one of two houses in the U.S. Congress. This site provides links to recent and pending legislation, a member directory, information about current Representatives, and the makeup of House committees and subcommittees.
The United States Senate
The Senate is the second and smaller of the two houses of Congress. This site has links to Senate committees, subcommittees, Senator directory, and legislative information.
Visit the Video Library to watch footage of House and Senate sessions. In the Resources collection you can find the Congressional Information Center where you can look up state and local officials. These resources and much more are available from C-SPAN.
The Government Printing Office
The GPO is responsible for creating federal government documents. The GPO Access section provides free electronic access to a number of publications; both historical and current documents can be found on the site.
The United States Federal Judiciary
This site provides a basic background on the workings of the federal judicial system. It has links to information about each level of the court system, a directory of federal courts, and much more.
U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
This site from Cornell University Law School provides searchable access to the full text of all Supreme Court decisions handed down since 1990. It also links to historic decisions by topic, author or party.
The United States Code
This site from Cornell University Law School provides a listing of all the current federal laws in effect. It's arranged by titles (the broad area the laws cover) and is completely searchable.
Oyez: Supremem Court Resource
This website contains abstracts and other materials on Constitutional law cases decided by the United States Supreme Court. You can learn about the Court, listen to recordings of Constitutional law arguments, and learn about the the Supreme Court Justices.
Federal Judicial Center
The FJC is the education and research agency for the federal courts. On this website you can learn how the federal court system works, read biographies of federal judges since 1789 and learn about landmark legislation.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
The NCJRS provides information and statisitics about crime, law enforcement , drugs and other topics related to criminal justice.
The Library of Congress
The largest library in the world, the Library of Congress was created to satisfy the information and research needs of the U.S. Congress. The LOC oversees the Congressional Research Service and the Copyright Office.
This website is a searchable database of summaries of legislation. You can also access the Congressional Record, Presidential nominations and more.
How Our Laws are Made
This helpful website outlines the steps in the legilative process of law making.
U.S. Department of the Treasury
This easy to use website outlines the duties and primary functions of the Treasury and gives a history of the department. You can also take a virtual tour of the national landmark.
"governmentattic.org provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act. Fascinating historical documents, reports on items in the news, oddities and fun stuff and government bloopers, they're all here. Think of browsing this site as rummaging through the Government's Attic -- hence our name."
Collects and provides access to federal, state, and local data from over 70 government sources.