Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Resources from the Web
A free art search engine, begun in 1999. Currently has over 700 arts sites indexed to create a searchable database of online images of visual art and the locations of the original works worldwide.
Bridgeman Art, Culture, History
Images from over 2,000 collections and more than 30,000 artists, Bridgeman provides a central source of fine art and historical images for users.
British Library - Image Collections
Huge collection, by topic, of images from the vast British Library collections.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world and discover and view artworks at incredible zoom levels.
You don't want to miss the YouTube videos with Art Project. You can see and hear art historians and curators talk about individual works of art in detail.
Warning: some images are difficult to see: this is a work in progress.
Guggenheim Collection Online
Browse the Guggenheim collection - by artist, title of work, type of art or movement.
National Gallery of Art
Over 65,000 images of famous art in the National gallery!
To get started enter a search term in the Quick Search box located in the upper right-hand corner of this page or browse the regularly updated featured-image collections prepared by Gallery staff.
Over 125,000 images from the world famous Rijksmusum!
A searchable collection of digital images; free to use for educational purposes. A UK-based collection.
Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture
A digital collection of over 300,000 images from more than 50 collections.
Web Gallery of Art
A database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 26,000 reproductions
Yale Digital Commons
Yale shares over 1.5 millions images across disciplinary lines - all free. However, they do not offer ARTstor's sophisticated software for saving images into folders nor do they have much in the traditional arts. Better used for non-ART courses; ARTstor remains superior for ART-related images and for the breadth of time covered and world-wide cultural diversity.
Images - Fair use - Code of Best Practices