Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Art Museums or Art Collections
Most major art museums now have online images of much of their collections. Go to the Museums link under Web Resources and select a museum.
Below are collections that differ from a museum. Instead they are independent collections. Google Art Project is small and delightful to use, and ARTstor is unrivaled in its astonishing breadth of art shown from all over the world and throughout human history. Have fun!
Largest online collection of art images in the world. See where each art work is located, who owns it and when it was created, etc.
Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. They are a resource for art collecting and education.
Broad range of art and artists. Take a look and another and another!
Google Art Project
Caution - a fun site, but small. ArtStor has vastly more images and flexibility.
Google Cultural Institute
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
Create your own galleries and share favorite finds with friends.
Public Art Archive
free, online resource that catalogs public art in the United States and Canada.
Search by city or states you plan to visit and be surprised by the public art available to you there!
A small and growing wiki for paintings (non-profit). The site presents both public domain artworks and works that are protected by copyright.
A bold way to catalog all the online painting in the United Kingdom!
Your Paintings is a joint initiative between the BBC, the Public Catalogue Foundation (a registered charity) and participating collections and museums from across the UK.