Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Periodicals" are publications that come out on a regular schedule (magazines, journals, newspapers). This guide covers periodicals freely available online.
Where should you look if you are assigned to find articles from academic journals for an assignment?
ACC Library Services subscribes to many online academic journals restricted to use by ACC students and staff. If used from off-campus you will log in using your ACCeID.
Directories of Online Periodicals
A Sample of free newspapers
The Christian Science Monitor
The current day's newspaper. Archives are also available for the past five days for free, earlier days for a fee.
Popular newspaper in Spanish online and one of the Madrid dailies
French daily afternoon newspaper from Le Monde Group
Los Angeles Times
Site contains most of the current day's paper. The most recent week is also available. Free registration required. Archives are available from 1990 for a fee.
New York Times
Site contains most of the current day's National edition newspaper, plus some weekly features. Registration is free. (Personal email account necessary)
Since 1995, Refdesk is a free and family-friendly web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based resources.
The Washington Post
In addition to the full text of every story from the current day's edition, the site contains breaking news updates. The past 2 weeks of Post articles are available for searching. Access to earlier articles requires a fee.
Free Online Science Articles
Selected Open Access (OA) Databases
More OA Databases from Houston Community College Libraries: