Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Periodicals" are publications that come out on a regular schedule (magazines, journals, newspapers). This guide covers periodicals freely available online.
Where should you look if you are assigned to find articles from academic journals for an assignment?
ACC Library Services subscribes to many online academic journals restricted to use by ACC students and staff. If used from off-campus you will log in using your ACCeID.
Directories of Online Periodicals
For 15 years, we have been making scientific research freely accessible and discoverable through partnerships, innovation and collaboration with the scientific community. Dedicated to open research, we now publish over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.
BMJ Open is an online, open access journal, dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas. The journal publishes all research study types, from study protocols to phase I trials to meta-analyses, including small, specialist studies, and negative studies. Publishing procedures are built around fully open peer review and continuous publication, publishing research online as soon as the article is ready.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Links to almost 600 free online scholarly journals, which can be searched for by title or by subject.
LC Lists of Newspapers, Periodicals and News Resources
Library of Congress. Lists of Newspaper & Periodical Resources on the Internet.
Links to online newspapers, magazines, radio and TV stations in the U.S.
PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to PMC is free and unrestricted..
U.S. Newspaper List
Directory of hundreds of online newspapers. Also includes links to TV and radio station web sites.
A Sample of free newspapers
The web version of the local daily paper. The latest week of articles is included. (Note: The library subscribes to the archives of the Statesman. Restricted to students and staff.)
There are many others. See the Journal Finder on the library homepage for more.
The Christian Science Monitor
The current day's newspaper. Archives are also available for the past five days for free, earlier days for a fee.
Los Angeles Times
Site contains most of the current day's paper. The most recent week is also available. Free registration required. Archives are available from 1990 for a fee.
New York Times
Site contains most of the current day's National edition newspaper, plus some weekly features. Registration is free. (Personal email account necessary)
Since 1995, Refdesk is a free and family-friendly web site that indexes and reviews quality, credible, and current web-based resources.
The Washington Post
In addition to the full text of every story from the current day's edition, the site contains breaking news updates. The past 2 weeks of Post articles are available for searching. Access to earlier articles requires a fee.
Free Online Science Articles