Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many websites that relate to Western Civilization may be found under the other website tabs. Mouse over "Web Sites" to see these tabs. Here are some more sites related directly to Western Civilization.
ORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
This site includes an online encyclopedia which is divided chronologically and thematically. There is also a library of full text works and a useful section for students beginning medieval studies entitled "What Every Medievalist Should Know." The site includes resources for teachers and additional links to other useful sites.
This site contains over 400 separate historical articles and approximately 4000 events that can be searched by region or theme. Useful for brief overviews.
Ancient World Mapping Center
Maintained at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site offers recent research concerning the ancient world from a variety of different disciplines. There are a number of detailed maps available for downloading.
A useful introduction to Greek and Roman mythology, Roman history and Roman culture. Latin Wordstock provides translations of Latin words into English and derivatives of English words from Latin roots.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Created by George Mason University and the City University
of New York, this site includes more than 600 primary documents also with 12 essays, 250 images, 350 text documents, 13 songs, 13 maps a timeline and a glossary. The search and browse features are particularly useful.
The Napoleonic Guide
A useful reference site with information on Napoleon's personal life, career, and campaigns. The site includes links about European history from 1796 - 1815 along with maps, time lines, songs, and images.
Primary historical documents from Western Europe. Organized by country and by time periods, this is an excellent site.
The Medici Archive Project
This searchable archive will contain almost three million letters, and offers "the most complete record of any princely regime in Renaissance and Baroque Europe." There is a special emphasis on costumes and Jewish history during the Renaissance.
From the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University. The Avalon Project's collections include digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government. Covers Ancient history through the present day.