VNG Project on Nursing and Culture: Finding Books

Includes... People of African American Heritage, People of American Indian/Alaskan Native Heritage, The Amish, People of Appalachian Heritage, People of Arab Heritage, People of Brasilian Heritage, People of Chinese Heritage, People of Cuban Heritage, People of European American Heritage, People of Filipino Heritage, People of German Heritage, People of Guatemalan Heritage, People of HaitianHindu Heritage, People of Hmong Heritage, People of Iranian Heritage, People of Japanese Heritage, People of Jewish Heritage, People of Irish Heritage, People of Korean Heritage, People of Mexican Heritage, People of Polish Heritage,; People of Puerto Rican Heritage, People of Russian Heritage, People of Somali Heritage,, People of Turkish Heritage, People of Vietnamese Heritage

Application of assessment and intervention techniques to specific cultural groups. African-Americans; Mexican Americans ; Navajos (Diné) ; Appalachians ; American Eskimos: the Yup'ik and Inupiat ; Japanese Americans ; Afghans and Afghan Americans; Russian Americans ; Chinese Americans ; Filipino Americans ; Vietnamese Americans ; East Indian Hindu Americans ; Haitian Americans ; Jewish Americans ; Korean Americans; French Canadians of Québec origin ; Puerto Ricans; Nigerian Americans ; Ugandan Americans ; Jordanian Americans; Cuban Americans ; Amish Americans ; Irish Americans

African-Americans -- Mexican Americans -- Navajos -- Appalachians -- American Eskimos : the Yup'ik and Inupiat -- Japanese Americans -- Afghans and Afghan Americans -- Russian Americans -- Chinese Americans -- Filipino Americans -- Vietnamese Americans -- East Indian Hindu Americans -- Haitian Americans -- Jewish Americans -- Korean Americans -- French Canadians of Quebec origin -- Puerto Rican Americans

Includes chapters on: People of African American heritage, The Amish, People of Appalachian heritage, People of Arab heritage, People of Chinese heritage, People of Guatemalan heritage, People of Egyptian heritage, People of Filipino heritage, People of French Canadian heritage, People of German heritage, People of Haitian heritage, People of Iranian heritage, People of Japanese heritage, People of Jewish heritage, People of Korean heritage, People of Mexican heritage, People of Russian heritage, People of Polish heritage, People of Thai heritage, People of Baltic heritage : Estonians, Latvians, and Lithuanian, People of Brazilian heritage, People of Greek ancestry, People of Cuban heritage, People of Hindu heritage, People of Irish heritage, People of Italian heritage, People of Puerto Rican heritage, Navajo Indians, People of Turkish heritage, People of Vietnamese heritage

Sample chapters: The Border and Pueblo: An American Mexican Cultural Experience; A Vibrant African American Community: The 49ers and the Quest for Justice;
The Story of a Guatemalan Mayan Farmworker; The Transcultural Social and Health Experience of an Asian Indian Widow; The Cultural, Health Care, and Intermigration Experience of a Filipino Nurse; Transcultural Diversity Within Unity in Jamaica: Out of Many, One People; Cuban American Transcultural Experiences and the Quest for Freedom in the United States; Puerto Rican Transcultural and Health Beliefs in a Western New York Community; Haitian Family’s Health Experience and the Public School System; Elderly Native American Navajo’s Health Experience in the Nursing Home Culture; The Transcultural Caring Experience of a Haitian Girl and a Nurse Practitioner in an Adolescent Correctional Facility; The Heart of Suffering, Mourning, and Healing in the Jewish Spiritual Culture: A Mother’s Story; The American Chinese Transcultural Maternal-Child and Family Experience in China; Extending Hands: Transcultural Caring in Saudi Arabia; American Nurses and the Native People of Ecuador: The Transcultural Experience of Shamanism

Build the skills you need to understand and care for a wide diversity of patients! The Health Care Professional's Guide to Cultural Competence, 2nd Edition provides a guide to safe and effective cross-cultural care. Applying theory to practice, the book begins with an overview of clinical cultural competence. This guide shows how to apply cultural competence across diverse populations, and then discusses considerations in working with specific populations.

This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.

The strength of this online encyclopedia is that it focuses on cultures and ethnic groups, rather than on national boundaries. Areas covered for each culture may include interpersonal relations, living conditions, rites of passage, family life, cultural issues, social problems and gender issues.

Includes information on the following cultures: American Indian/Alaskan Native, Navajo, The Amish, Appalachian Heritage, Arab, Chinese, Cuban, European American, Filipino, German, Guatemalan, Haitian, Hindu, Hmong, Iranian, Japanese, Jewish, Korea, Mexican, Polish, Puerto Rican, Russian, Somali, Thai, Turkish, Vietnamese.

"A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as...ethnicity..."

"This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience." Most articles on ethnic groups discuss cultural attitudes that impact health care.

Native American, Brazil, China, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Haiti, Native Hawaiians, Hmong, , India, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, The Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Uganda, Vietnam

These volumes offer a one-stop resource for researching the lives, customs, and cultures of Africa's nations and peoples. Entries include information on lifestyle, religion, social customs, gender roles, marriage, and family, cusine and more.

"Provides objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. This book features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, society, and culture." Helpful sections for this project include: Living Conditions, Health, Food and Nutrition, Status of Women, Culture, Folklore and Mythology, Etiquette, Family Life and Personal Appearance.

Includes -- African-Americans ; Mexican Americans ; Navajos (Diné) ; Appalachians ; American Eskimos: the Yup'ik and Inupiat ; Japanese Americans ; Afghans and Afghan Americans ; Russian Americans ; Chinese Americans ; Filipino Americans ; Vietnamese Americans ; East Indian Hindu Americans ; Haitian Americans ; Jewish Americans ; Korean Americans ; French Canadians of Québec origin ; Puerto Ricans ; Nigerian Americans ; Ugandan Americans ; Jordanian Americans ; Cuban Americans ; Amish Americans ; Irish Americans

This is an older edition of the title above. African-Americans -- Mexican Americans -- Navajos -- Appalachians -- American Eskimos : the Yup'ik and Inupiat -- Japanese Americans -- Afghans and Afghan Americans -- Russian Americans -- Chinese Americans -- Filipino Americans -- Vietnamese Americans -- East Indian Hindu Americans -- Haitian Americans -- Jewish Americans -- Korean Americans -- French Canadians of Quebec origin -- Puerto Rican Americans

Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice. Noted researchers, educators, and clinicians from a wealth of backgrounds use the Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups from a health care perspective. Each brings a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, providing a unique perspective on the implications for patient care. Chapters include care of people of African American, Amish, Appalachian, Arab, Chinese, Cuban heritage, European American, Filipino heritage, German, Haitian, Hindu, Hmong, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Mexican, Polish, Puerto Rican, and Russian heritage.

Black Americans - Mexican Americans - Puerto Rican Americans - Cuban Americans - Central Americans - Dominican Americans - South Americans - Chinese Americans - Korean Americans - Cambodian Americans - Vietnamese Americans - Asian Indian Americans - Japanese Americans - Filipino Americans - Pacific Islander Americans - Navajos - Alaska Natives/American Eskimos - Irish Americans - Italian Americans - Appalachians - The Amish - Roma(Gypsies) - Jewish Americans - Russian Americans.

Table of Contents:
Beyond culture : strategies for caring for patients from diverse racial, ethnic, and cultural groups / JudyAnn Bigby -- Care of blacks and African Americans / Melissa Welch -- Care of Latinos / Susana Morales -- Care of American Indians and Alaska Natives / Christine Makosky Daley, Sean M. Daley -- Care of Asian Americans / Jean Lau Chin, JudyAnn Bigby -- Care of Arab Americans and American Muslims / Maya M. Hammoud, M. Kay Siblani -- Caring for immigrants / Barbara Ogur -- Spirituality and religion in health care / Linda Barnes -- Advocating for health care systems that meet the needs of diverse populations / JudyAnn Bigby.

The Border and Pueblo: An American Mexican Cultural Experience -- A Vibrant African American Community: The 49ers and the Quest for Justice -- The Story of a Guatemalan Mayan Farmworker -- The Transcultural Social and Health Experience of an Asian Indian Widow -- The Cultural, Health Care, and Intermigration Experience of a Filipino Nurse -- Transcultural Diversity Within Unity in Jamaica: Out of Many, One People -- Cuban American Transcultural Experiences and the Quest for Freedom in the United States -- Puerto Rican Transcultural and Health Beliefs in a Western New York Community -- Haitian Family's Health Experience and the Public School System -- Elderly Native American Navajo's Health Experience in the Nursing Home -- The Transcultural Caring Experience of a Haitian Girl and a Nurse Practitioner in an Adolescent Correctional Facility -- The Heart of Suffering, Mourning, and Healing in the Jewish Spiritual Culture: A Mother's Story -- The American Chinese Transcultural Maternal-Child and Family Experience in China -- Extending Hands: Transcultural Caring in Saudi Arabia -- American Nurses and the Native People of Ecuador: The Transcultural Experience of Shamanism

This book is not arranged by specific cultures or ethnic groups, but it does offer information on working with other cultures generally.

This book is not arranged by specific cultures or ethnic groups, but it does offer information on working with other cultures generally.

Hispanic/Latino health, cancer, and disease -- Promoting health among Black Americans -- Health and disease of American Indians and Alaska Native populations in the United States: an overview -- Asian American health and disease: an overview -- Pacific Islanders health and disease: an overview -- Promoting health in Arab American populations -- a, Kipling Gallion, and Alfred McAlister -- Improving Pacific Islander health through community participation: a case study -- Access to mental health services for low income immigrant and refugee Arab Americans: case study

Unit I: Cultural foundations -- Building cultural and linguistic competence -- Cultural heritage and history -- Diversity -- Health and illness -- Unit II: Health domains -- Health traditions -- Healing traditions -- Familial health traditions -- Health and illness in modern healthcare -- Unit III: Health and illness panoramas -- Health and illness in the American Indian and Alaska Native population -- Health and illness in the Asian population -- Health and illness in the Black population -- Health and illness in the Hispanic populations -- Health and illness in the White populations -- Cultural competency -- Appendix A: Selected key terms related to cultural diversity in health and illness -- Appendix B: Cultural care assessments -- Appendix C: Calendar: cultural and religious holidays that change dates -- Appendix D: Selected data resources.