Business Administration: Reference Works

There is a link in this dictionary to access the French-English part.

There is a link in this dictionary to access the French-English part.

Comprehensive career-oriented and academic resources to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Includes practice exams.

This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing. You must register from the first page of this resource. See these instructions.

LearningExpress is compatible with your mobile devices.

LearningExpress is funded by a grant from the US Institute of Museum and Library Services via The TexShare Database program of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Career and job search platform designed to guide any job seeker through the most effective career selection and job search possible.

This product (and not ACC) requires that you register for a free account before accessing.

This database is part of LearningExpress.

Publisher's Note: Careers in Business contains twenty-five alphabetically arranged chapters describing specific fields of interest in these industries. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides business and business administration students with the necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. Careers in Business is specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and is edited to align with secondary or high school curriculum standards.

Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Contents:
vol. 1. Food & kindred products -- Tobacco products -- Textile mill products -- Apparel & other finished products made from fabrics & similar materials -- Lumber & wood products, except furniture -- Furniture & fixtures -- Paper & allied products -- Printing, publishing & allied industries -- Chemicals & allied products -- Petroleum refining & related industries -- Rubber & miscellaneous plastics products -- Leather & leather products -- Stone, clay, glass & concrete products -- Primary metals industries -- Fabricated metal products, except machinery/transportation equipment -- Industrial & commercial machinery & computer equipment -- Electronic & other electrical equipment & components, except computer equipment -- Transportation equipment -- Miscellaneous manufacturing industries.
vol. 2. Agriculture, forestry, & fishing -- Mining industries -- Construction industries -- Transportation, communications, electric, gas, & sanitary services -- Wholesale trade.
vol. 3. Retail trade -- Finance, insurance, & real estate -- Service industries -- Public administration.

ebk ISBN 9781414438030

Contents:
Bed and breakfast -- Commercial and residential aquarium maintenance -- Computer repair and technical support -- Cookie shop -- Finicial services company -- Gourmet foods company -- Grant writer -- Image consulting -- Information broker business -- Marketing services -- Money manager service -- Personal training services for women -- Pet grooming service -- Plumbing service -- Produce and flower market -- Quality assurance consulting services -- Referral service for caregivers and sitters -- Retail business incubator -- Senior relocation services -- Senior technology assistance business.

Summary: Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

ebk ISBN 9781414462660

Contents:
1. Major trends affecting the consulting industry -- 2. Consulting industry statistics -- 3. Important consulting industry contacts -- 4. The consulting 250: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary:
The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the various aspects of the consulting industry, to emerging technology, to an in-depth look at the major firms (which we call "THE CONSULTING 250") within the many segments that make up the consulting industry. Our definition of the types of businesses involved in consulting is applied in a liberal sense. Accordingly, this book includes traditional management consulting and human resources consulting firms; companies involved in IT, e-commerce or marketing consulting; as well as consultancies in such areas as manufacturing, logistics and transportation. In addition, we have added companies that combine engineering, design, outsourcing or facilities management with consulting services. We have also included companies that perform research and development functions combined with consulting services, along with major original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) that provide consulting services to their clients.

Contents: 1. Major trends in the outsourcing & offshoring industry -- 2. Outsourcing & offshoring industry statistics -- 3. Important outsourcing & offshoring industry contacts -- 4. The outsourcing & offshoring 350: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary: The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the various types of businesses involved in outsourcing, to the services and technologies that are changing outsourcing and offshoring, to an in-depth look at the major firms within the many segments that make up the outsourcing and offshoring industry. Our definition of the types of businesses involved in outsourcing and offshoring is applied in a liberal sense. Accordingly, this book includes companies and sectors that are not exclusively in the outsourcing or offshoring business. It includes coverage of companies involved in such diverse areas as third party logistics, call centers, research and development, software development and contract manufacturing.

Summary:
Complete profiles on the top companies with the latest statistics and trends in fuel cells, wind power, solar power, cogeneration, power storage devices, hydrogen, hydroelectric, biomass energy, alternative technologies, profiles of leading firms--Cover.
Contents:
Major trends affecting the renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry -- Renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry statistics -- Important renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy industry contacts -- The ALTERNATIVE ENERGY 300 : who they are and how they were chosen.

Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods.

Contents: 1. Major trends affecting the biotech & genetics industry -- 2. Biotech & genetics industry statistics -- 3. Important biotech & genetics industry contacts -- 4. The BIOTECH 400: who they are and how they were chosen.
Summary: The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from the ethical questions facing biotechnology, to emerging technology, to an in-depth look at the major for-profit firms within the many industry sectors that make up the biotechnology and genetics arena.

Dictionary contains over 6,500 entries relating to all aspects of management and business as well as e-commerce.
Summary: Covering all areas of modern business practice, this edition now includes increased coverage of terms and concepts. It also looks at issues such as Internet business, private equity, structured finance, and much more.

Summary: This encyclopedia focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business. Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.

Summary: "Business ratios, formulas, and statistics are used by controllers, business managers, and analyst to evaluate company operations and performance. This book presents a comprehensive resource of nearly 250 operational criteria, allowing managers to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. The measurements contain not only financial matters but also those related to efficiency, effectiveness, capacity, and market share. In addition, measurements related to asset utilization, operating performance, cash flows, liquidity, capital structure, return on investment, and market performance.Each measurement includes a description, an explanation of the calculation, an example, and cautions regarding its use. There is also a description of an electronic spreadsheet to compile a standard set of measurements using Excel as the template.This new edition will include over 20 new measurements"

ebook ISBNs: 9781118226834, 9781118239827, 9781118264423.

Covers key aspects of finance including risk and cash-flow management, operations, macro issues, regulation, auditing and raising capital.

ebk ISBN 1414409737

Summary: A complete market research guide to the transportation, supply chain and logistics industries-for strategic planning, competitive intelligence, employment searches or financial research. Contains our famous trends analysis, statistical tables and glossary. Includes our profiles of the top 500 global transportation, supply chain and logistics firms, public and private.

Vols. 1-6 are also available at ACC.

Provides information on the manufacture of a variety of items, from everyday household products to heavy machinery to sophisticated electronic equipment. Includes step-by-step descriptions of processes and simple explanations of technical terms and concepts. Covers a broad range of manufacturing areas including: food, clothing, electronics, transportation, machinery, instruments, sporting goods, and more.