There are several types of information available to Logistics and Supply Chain Management students through the ACC libraries, both in print form and electronically. The tabs along the top of the page provide details on the different types of resources listed below:
| Reference Works |
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other background sources. Go to these for definitions, overviews, shorter explanations, historical information. |
|
Books & Videos |
Detailed information on current management practices and techniques, as well as historical information, prominent figures in management and their work, and management theory. |
| Articles |
Articles from journals, magazines, and major newspapers are a good source for technical tips, current trends, and product reviews, as well as the published work of practicing management professionals in major trade and scholarly sources. ACC business databases can help connect you to these articles. |
| Web Sites | Selected government sources, professional organizations, and on-line logistics and supply chain management and business magazines. |
Use the tabs above to get more information.
Austin Business Journal - Includes content from the late 1990s to the present, and includes the Book of Lists and Special Publications. Access is granted by registering with your ACC email.
3 hours a day : how entrepreneurs can multiply their income by working less and living more by
"Williams, also known as The Business Healer, shows you how to transform your work life in a proven 7-step process that includes prioritizing dollar-producing activities while relegating non-dollar producing activities to your capable crew. You'll also learn how to take a dive deep into your own business to find out what's working and what's not, through the 8 Pillars of Success: mindset, activities, people, systems, tools, money, accountability, and training"--
Clarity by
Achieve unheard-of results by focusing your mind and achieving real clarity of thought In the newly revised Second Edition of Clarity: Clear Mind, Better Performance, Bigger Results, renowned speaker, writer, and coach Jamie Smart delivers a practical roadmap to turning that infinitely long to-do list into manageable and focused tasks. In the book, you'll learn to de-clutter your mind and concentrate on one important thing at a time. You'll also discover how to clear your mind, become less stressed, and achieve greater levels of productivity. The author shows you: New case studies--and updates to case studies appearing in the first edition--that highlight the strategies contained in the book New diagrams and formulae that make it easier to eliminate the noise and focus on what's critical Peer-reviewed research that forms the foundation of the evidence-based techniques discussed within Clarity: Clear Mind, Better Performance, Bigger Results is an essential read for executives, managers, and other business leaders looking for major productivity and efficiency gains for themselves, their organizations, and their staff. It's also a must-buy for the leaders of innovation and business development teams seeking to unlock a new level of results.
Managing Change by
CREATE A HIGH-PERFORMING TEAM BY EMPLOYING EFFECTIVE CHANGE MANAGEMENT Do you want to improve your current workplace or organization? Organization Development can teach you what steps you can take to achieve your goals. You'll follow Chuji, a store manager at an automobile company who's been sent to a troubled dealership branch and learn from the challenges he faces as he implements a series of managerial changes only to meet resistance and hostility from employees and leaders. You'll also learn about: How to overcome obstacles and resistance to organizational change How to employ the principles of visibility, communication, and visioning while leveraging the strengths of your team The science of organizational development Managing Change is an indispensable roadmap to effective change management that will help you shift the mindset of your team members from individualism to one focused on the good of the organization and the team as a whole. Find out why the Manga For Success series--now available in English for the first time--is so popular in Japan, Korea, and beyond.
Vertical Growth by
Learn the secrets to self-awareness, life-changing growth and happy, high-performing teams--from the bestselling author of The Mindful Leader Great leaders and teams don't know everything, and they don't get it right every time. What sets them apart is their commitment to continual learning and vertical growth. Vertical growth is about cultivating the self-awareness to see our self-defeating thoughts, assumptions and behaviours, and then consciously creating new behaviours that are aligned with our best intentions and aspirations. By embracing the deliberate practices and processes for vertical growth laid out in this book, you'll not only radically improve your leadership and personal wellbeing--you'll also foster the highest levels of trust, psychological safety, motivation, and creativity in the teams and groups you work with. You'll to discover how to: Identify when, where and how to develop new leadership behaviours to get better results Regulate your emotional responses in real time and handle the most difficult challenges with balance, wisdom and accountability Cultivate practices for self-awareness that foster lifelong internal growth and personal happiness Uncover and change the limiting assumptions and beliefs that keep you, your team and organisation locked in unproductive habits and behaviours Create practices and rituals that enable the highest levels of psychological safety, innovation and growth Filled with fascinating real-life case studies as well as practical tools and strategies, this is your handbook for mastering vertical growth in yourself, your team and your organisation.
The Next Economy MBA by
This radical and rigorous rethinking of the traditional MBA program combines solid business principles with a commitment to environmental and social justice. Many current and aspiring entrepreneurs are looking for a solid business education that also deeply aligns with their progressive values. Based on a course field-tested with over 500 students, this book fills that gap. It covers traditional topics such as business strategy and structure, finance, marketing, recruiting, and branding from a socially just and environmentally regenerative perspective. And it also touches on topics such as strategies to reverse climate change, nonviolent communication, self-managing organizations, locally self-reliant economies, racial justice, and more. Traditional MBA programs are based on outdated principles that were developed during the Industrial Revolution-and they can be hugely expensive. Sustainable MBA programs, while laudable, are too incremental to make a sufficient impact. The Next Economy MBA is for entrepreneurs seeking to make business an active force for good. It draws on the authors' experience of working with over 300 social enterprises, from small organizations like Winona's Hemp and Heritage Farm to household names like Ben & Jerry's and Patagonia. Our current economy, what the authors call the Business as Usual Economy, has created a massive wealth gap, a climate crisis, racial division, and needless housing, food, and healthcare shortages. This book shows how businesses can pave the way to a Next Economy that meets the basic needs of all people and restores and protects the planetary ecosystem.
Learning and teaching business lessons and insights from a lifetime of work by
Contents: How Was My Vision Shaped?: Upbringing and Education -- Experiences from Academia and Academic Administration -- The Role of Research -- Influences: Family and Friends -- The Influence of Business: Lorange Institute and Lorange Network -- Family Business Strategies -- Board Membership and Consulting Assignments -- Guiding Principles: Quality -- Diversity -- Risk and Uncertainty -- Discipline and Integrity in Decision-Making -- Business Skills: Networking -- Speed -- Proactivity, Positivity, and Innovation -- Cycle Management: Entries and Exits -- Conclusions: Learning in the Future: Individuals, Business, and Academic Institutions.
Strategic Negotiations for Sustainable Value by
Strategic Negotiations for Sustainable Value is a guide to learning how to conclude lasting business deals that are environmentally, socially and economically sustainable in an international business context. Managers today need to negotiate with multiple stakeholders, such as suppliers, customers, agencies, governments and authorities, to be able to access the resources that they need. Creating and capturing sustainable value is not a fixed entity but rather the outcome of long and time-consuming negotiations that affect further negotiations. Providing illustrative international case studies throughout each chapter, this book explores: the strategic challenges that managers face in their markets today; the practical, analytical tools that needed to create and capture value that is sustainable; the behavioral biases and cognitive errors in strategic negotiations; the various ways by which negotiators manifest their business agreements in contracts; the managerial implications of strategic negotiations. The book is ideal for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students in negotiation, business administration, management, or related courses such as business marketing, and customer or key account management. It is equally valuable to industry professionals, managers involved in negotiating with customers, suppliers or partners and those pursuing professional qualifications or accreditation in marketing, sales or management.
Principles of Data Management by
Data is a valuable corporate asset and its effective management is vital to an organisation's success. This professional guide covers all the key areas of data management, including database development and corporate data modelling. It is business-focused, providing the knowledge and techniques required to successfully implement the data management function. This new edition adds chapters on linked data, concept systems and big data and artificial intelligence.
Managing Public Services by
This book explores innovations in public management, including establishing a corporate vision, strategizing an organization and change management. Chapters provide a valuable frame of reference for the 21st-century manager of public services by assessing the renewal of existing practices such as strategic costing, performance management, digitization and procurement and innovations in management practices, including branding, Lean Management, resilience and risk management. The book suggests that, as the management of public services is imbued with financial, social, economic and political uncertainties, management needs to be flexible and responsive to new ideas and practices to fulfil its purpose. This book ultimately supports the reflective manager, those who think about their job and are open to new ideas on how their job can be done better, by revisiting existing practices and examining innovations in public management. Enriched with real-life cases and thought-provoking discussion questions, this is the ideal textbook for reflective, open-minded advanced students of public management and actual, or aspiring, reflective managers in public services.