Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RESEARCH GUIDES ACC Home Page

CHEM 1111 Lab - Bill Cheek: Find Background Information

Finding Background Information

Definitions (Glossary)

Abstract: A paragraph summary of what the study includes

Conference proceedings: An abstract presented at a conference, usually without the full article text

Databases: Collections of online resources, such as library databases

Encyclopedias: May contain information about many subjects or specialized information on a single subject

Empirical researchreports the results of original research

Indexes: Print or online collections of abstracts, may not contain full text articles

Monograph: Single volume book 

Pre-prints: Preview of article, usually still in peer-review process (not all are published later)

Primary source: Original sources which report on new information or contain original ideas

Secondary source: Analyzes or comments on original sources

Tertiary source: Compares or compiles secondary sources 

Textbook: Usually published years after primary sources are published

Library Background Information Sources

Databases with Background Info on Chemistry Topics:

(Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries)


ACC Web Site || Library Web Site || GET HELP! || Search the Library
Contact Us • © Library Services, Austin Community College